Longford County Council wins national Safety Award

Health & Safety to the fore at local authority HQ

Aisling Kiernan


Aisling Kiernan



Longford Co Council Award Presentation

Pictured at the awards ceremony are - back row L-R: Margaret McEntire, Paul Newell, Amanda Cullen, Ann Marie McKeon, Chief Executive Paddy Mahon, Danny Lynch. Front Row L-R John Thompson Chair of NISG

Longford County Council has won its fourth consecutive national award at the 27th Annual Occupational Safety Awards Event.

Having entered the NISO/NISG Competition since 2014 and securing a safety award each year since has demonstrated the strong personal commitment to improving health & safety from the local authority employees.

“The Annual Occupational Safety Awards running in conjunction with Northern Ireland Safety Group (NISG) recognise how organisations manage health and safety at work,” said Eleanor Farrell, Health and Safety Support Officer, Longford County Council.

“The many organisations that participate, including a large number of repeat entrants is testament to the quality of the process, the high regard that the awards commands and the value it brings.”

Meanwhile, the ‘Best Local Authority’ Award was presented to Mary Gouldsbury, Health and Safety Officer and Cathaoirleach Cllr Luie McEntire on behalf of Longford County Council. “This award highlights our commitment to continually improve our safety management system to the highest level,” added Ms Gouldsbury.

Chief Executive of Longford County Council, Paddy Mahon subsequently expressed his appreciation to Longford County Council employees for “helping to create a healthy and safe working environment”.

He also added, “The great work done by everyone is acknowledged by this NISO award”.

Read Also:  Garda chief Drew Harris backs Longford Gardaí in ongoing fight against crime and vows to restore public confidence in force