Longford exit U-20 Championship as they slump to third consecutive defeat against neighbours Westmeath

Eirgrid Leinster U-20 Football Championship Group 1 - Round 3: Longford 1-10 Westmeath 1-16

Longford exit U-20 Championship as they slump to third consecutive defeat against neighbours Westmeath

Longford sub Cian McElligott gets away from Westmeath's Tom Molloy in the Eirgrid Leinster U-20 Football Championship at Glennon Brothers Pearse Park on Saturday. Photo by Declan Gilmore

Longford fell to their third defeat in consecutive group games and exited the Eirgrid Leinster U-20 football championship on Saturday afternoon at Glennon Brothers Pearse Park as Westmeath advanced to the quarter-finals with six points to spare, 1-16 to 1-10, over their neighbours.

Westmeath were sharper in attack and took their scores. They were twice ahead by six points in the second half and Tom Molloy added a goal in the 50th minute to stretch their lead to nine points, 1-15 to 0-9.

Also read: Longford have home advantage for the clash against Kildare in the All-Ireland qualifiers

Longford ended the game well with a goal from substitute Ruairi Harkin - who togged out just days after his grandfather Michael died. Rory Hawkins, his Colmcille team-mate, added a late point to Longford’s tally.

See Wednesday's Longford Leader for more. 

LONGFORD: Conor Gallagher; Kian Gilmore, Michael Cahill, Mark McCormack (0-1); Ross Claffey, Shane Farrell (0-1), Cillian Lee; Enda Farrell, Daire Duggan (0-1); Iarla O’Sullivan, Peter Lynn (0-1), Kyle Kenny (0-1); Rory Hawkins (0-3), Sean Noonan, Thomas McGann (0-2,1f).

Subs: Ryan McHugh for Kenny (half-time), Cian McElligott for Lynn (38 mins), James Bracken for Claffey and Ruairi Harkin (1-0) for E Farrell (55 mins)

WESTMEATH: Jordan Nugent; Conor Dillon, Gareth Carr, Eoghan Bracken; Joe Moran, Eoin Nally, Plunkett Maxwell; Adam Loughlin (0-1), John Tumelty; Daniel Reid (0-2), Nigel Harte (0-2), James Maxwell (0-2); Tom Molloy (1-2), Sean Pettit (0-6,4f), Brian Kavanagh (0-1).

Subs: Robbie Forde for Kavanagh (49 mins), Ben Treanor for Dillon (51 mins), Kevin Regan for Loughlin (55mins), Ben Cox for Molloy (57 mins), Sean Clinton for P Maxwell (58 mins)

REFEREE: Patrick Coyle (Meath)

Also read: Longford juniors lose out to Meath in high scoring Leinster championship clash

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.