16 Aug 2022

No joy for St Mel’s College as Leinster title hopes are dashed

No joy for St Mel’s College as Leinster title hopes are dashed

Darragh O'Connell pictured in action for St Mel's.

St Mel’s College made their exit from the Leinster Post-Primary Schools Senior ‘A’ Football Championship when they lost by three points against St Aidan’s CBS in the second round clash at the Whitehall Colmcille GFC grounds on Friday.


Leinster Post-Primary Schools Senior ‘A’ Football Championship Second Round

St Aidan’s CBS, Whitehall . . . . 0-15     St Mel’s College, Longford . . . . 1-9

Even the boost of a brilliant goal from attacking wing back Brian Harte midway through the second half fail to save St Mel’s who eventually had to settle for second best against the physically stronger Dublin outfit.

St Mel’s, forced to start without injured goalkeeper Declan McKenna (Clonguish) and full-back Gavin Hughes (Killoe), held a slender 1-8 to 0-10 lead with 51 minutes gone on the clock but St Aidan’s produced a strong finish to score five points in a row to book their place in the quarter-finals.

ST AIDAN’S CBS: Ciaran McHugh; Dylan O’Connell, Matt Moran, Darragh Bergin; Ryan Harte, Ciaran Murphy, Ryan Kelly; Donal Ryan (0-1), Keith Campbell (0-2, one free); Enda O’Donnell, Tony McCaul (0-1), James Doran (0-3, two frees); Brian Ashton (0-1), Jordan Leonard, Lee Gannon (0-6).

Subs:- Eoin Berry for R Kelly (injured, 19 mins); Sergei Runin (0-1) for E Berry (half-time); Andy McCaul for J Leonard (42 mins); Cameron McCormack for B Ashton (55 mins); E Berry for T McCaul (black card, 60 mins).

ST MEL’S COLLEGE: Brian Carr (Killoe); Paul Brady (Killoe), Liam Harte (Killoe), Niall Farrelly (Killoe); Michael McCann (Clonguish), Paddy Duggan (Longford Slashers), Brian Harte (Killoe, 1-1); Padraic Halpin (St Barry’s, Tarmonbarry, 0-1), Gerard Flynn (Longford Slashers, 0-1); Robbie O’Connell (Longford Slashers, 0-3, two frees), Daniel Connell (Mostrim), Daire O’Brien (Longford Slashers, 0-1); Darragh O’Connell (Longford Slashers), Dylan Smith (Longford Slashers), Liam Sheridan (Clonguish).

Subs:- Cian Dooner (Killoe, 0-2) for D Smith (injured, 13 mins); Sean Creevy (Longford Slashers) for P Brady (54 mins).

Referee: Patrick Coyle (Meath).  

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.