29 Sept 2022

St Mel’s College master Maynooth in championship

St Mel’s College master Maynooth in championship

Impressive wing back Brian Harte, who scored 1-1 for St Mel's.

A goal from impressive wing back Brian Harte on the stroke of half-time left St Mel’s leading by 1-3 to 0-3 at the break and they gradually pulled away to win by the comfortable margin of ten points in the finish.    


Leinster Post-Primary Schools Senior ‘A’ Football Championship First Round

St Mel’s College . . . . 3-9    Maynooth PP . . . . 0-8

It was the first ever Leinster Colleges Senior Football Championship game played at the school grounds on the excellent redeveloped pitch on Wednesday and St Mel’s struggled for most of the first half with the physically strong Maynooth side winning a lot of possession.

But the Co Kildare post-primary school failed to convert this superiority into vital scores and their hopes were eventually dashed when St Mel’s corner-forward Darragh O’Connell fired home a couple of well-taken goals in the second half.

Corner-forward O’Connell was on target in the 40th and 47th minutes to clinch the victory for the Longford college who produced a much improved performance on the changeover.

ST MEL’S: Declan McKenna (Clonguish); Paul Brady (Killoe), Gavin Hughes (Killoe), Niall Farrelly (Killoe); Michael McCann (Clonguish), Paddy Duggan (Longford Slashers), Brian Harte (Killoe, 1-1); Padraic Halpin (St Barry’s, Tarmonbarry, 0-1), Gerard Flynn (Longford Slashers, 0-1); Robbie O’Connell (Longford Slashers, 0-2, frees), Daniel Connell (Mostrim), Daire O’Brien (Longford Slashers); Darragh O’Connell (Longford Slashers, 2-1), Dylan Smith (Longford Slashers), Cian Dooner (Killoe, 0-3, one free).

Subs used:- Liam Sheridan (Clonguish, 58 mins); Liam Harte (Killoe, 59 mins); Thomas Farrell (Ardagh/Moydow, 60 mins).

MAYNOOTH: Liam Condon; David Bonass, Cian Whyte, James Murray; Oisin O’Cuill, Ben Carroll, Aidan O’Riain; Paul Maguire, Kevin Dunne (0-1); Calum McCabe, Niall O’Sullivan (0-3), Oran Maloney (0-1); Niall Kinirons (0-1), Jack Foley (0-1, free), Braden Miller (0-1).

Subs used:- Brendan Bradley (30 mins); Donal Murray (50 mins); Muburah Moyosore (52 mins); Ronan Dunne (54 mins), Liam Byrne (55 mins); Owen McDonald (60 mins).

Referee: Brendan Nea (Westmeath).

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.