Dromard’s Ellen Murphy selected on the Ireland Senior Women’s Rugby squad to play England

International in Twickenham this Saturday evening

Leader Reporter


Leader Reporter



Ireland senior women's rugby

Longford's Ellen Murphy, a member of the Ireland Women's senior rugby squad.

Ellen Murphy from Dromard in north Longford has earned the tremendous honour of selection on the Ireland women's rugby squad for the senior international match against England in Twickenham this  Saturday evening.

Former Moyne Community School student Ellen, who plays her club rugby with Old Belvedere in Dublin where she is based and is the Leinster scrum half, is listed among the replacements and hopefully the 24-year-old will get the opportunity to win her first cap at senior international level against England.

The Ireland Senior Women's rugby team to play England

15. Lauren Delany (Firwood Waterloo Ladies/IQ Rugby)

14. Eimear Considine (UL Bohemians/Munster)

13. Sene Naoupu (Old Belvedere/Leinster) (capt)

12. Michelle Claffey (Blackrock/Leinster)

11. Laura Sheehan (UL Bohemians/Munster)

10. Nikki Caughey (Railway Union/Leinster)

9. Nicole Cronin (UL Bohemians/Munster)

1. Lindsay Peat (Railway Union/Leinster)

2. Emma Hooban (St. Mary's/Leinster)

3. Leah Lyons (Harlequins)

4. Aoife McDermott (Railway Union/Leinster)

5. Nichola Fryday (Galwegians/Connacht)

6. Jeamie Deacon (Blackrock/Leinster)

7. Claire Molloy (Wasps)

8. Juliet Short (Railway Union/Leinster) *


16. Sarah Mimnagh (Richmond/IQ Rugby)

17. Laura Feely (Galwegians/Connacht)

18. Fiona Reidy (UL Bohemians/Munster)

19. Claire McLaughlin (Old Belvedere/Ulster)

20. Edel McMahon (Galwegians/Connacht)

21. Ailsa Hughes (Railway Union/Leinster)

22. Ellen Murphy (Old Belvedere/Leinster) *

23. Beibhinn Parsons (Ballinasloe/Connacht)

* Denotes uncapped player