09 Aug 2022

Council approve new LCDC member

Cllr Turlough McGovern

New Longford County Council Cathaoirleach Cllr Turlough McGovern

Longford County Council approved a new member to Longford Local Community Development Committee (LCDC) at the July meeting of the authority.

Members approved the appointment of Deirdre Orme, nominee of the County Longford Tourism Committee to replace Bartle D’Arcy as a member of Longford Local Community Development Committee (LCDC).

Barbara Heslin, Director of Services for Community and Enterprise brought the proposal to the chamber with Cathaoirleach Turlough McGovern proposing the nomination and Cllr Colm Murray (FG) seconding it.

The LCDC is a committee of the Council with the role of developing, co-ordinating and implementing community development. The primary work of the LCDC is achieved through initiatives like Community Enhancement Programme (CEP), Community Activities Fund (CAF), Healthy Ireland (HI), Social Enterprise Capital Grants Scheme (SECGS), Local Economic and Community Plan (LECP) and Rural Development Programme (LEADER).

The membership comprise a range of statutory and non-statutory socio-economic partners drawn from the Councils administrative area. The LCDC membership includes a balance between public and private interests, while also facilitating an appropriate mix across the broad range of sectors across the county.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.