Former residents’ deaths

Former residents’ deaths

The death has taken place of Mrs. Mary McAllister, nee Hyland, Drumbanagh, Newtownbutler and formerly of Corrawallen. Following the Service of Thanksgiving in Galoon Parish Church, Newtownbutler on Sunday, her remains were laid to rest in the adjoining graveyard. We condole with her husband Tom, daughter Jennifer, sons Aubrey, Ivan and Cyril, her sister Mrs. Prairie Curran, her brothers Joe and Aubrey, her grandchildren, nieces, nephews, cousins in laws and other relatives. “Safe in the arms of Jesus”

Death of Nonagenarian

The death has also taken place at the Northwest Hospice, Sligo of Mrs. Elizabeth Sheridan, nee Sutherland, Calloughs, Carrigallen and formerly

Toome. Her funeral took place on Saturday last following Mass of the Resurrection in St. Mary’s Church, Carrigallen to the adjoining cemetery. Sympathy is extended to her daughters Maureen Brady, Phyllis Fay and Carmel McDermott, her sons Noel Cathal and Seán, her sons in law, daughters in law, sisters in law, nieces, nephews, grandchildren, great-grandchildren and other relatives. I leaba na naomh go raibh a hanam.

Winners at Bingo

The following were among the winners at Drumreilly Community Centre on last Friday night: Michael Brady, Ballinamore, Rose Smith, Drumury, Bernadette O Kane, Aughawillan, Anne Honeyman, Tullyoscar, Debbie Keaney, Aughacashel, Pat Conefrey, Corrawallen, Mary Curran, Aughavas,

Brigid Smith, Mahana, Cassie Dolan, Calloughs, Nan Connolly, Ardunsaghan, Siobhán Gannon, Drimmien, Veronica Mulligan, Mt. Ida, Noelle McGovern, Ardra, Lily Curran, Ballinamore, Mary McGovern, Cattan, Mary McBrien, Aughalough, Vincent Grimes, Drumconlevan, Mary O’Rourke, Corlough, Susan Hehle, Fenagh, Mary Canning, Drumshanbo North, Shirley Gooheen, Drumraine, Geraldine Prior, Drumraine, Benny Connolly, Drumlea, M. Tague, Kiltubrid, Michael Donohoe, Drumcoura, Peter Murray, Carrigallen, Eileen Wrynn, Tarmon. Bingo will continue on next Friday at 8.30pm. The Committee members thank all the supporters for keeping the show on the road.

Successful student

Congratulations go to Alan Kennedy, Glenview, Glenview, Aughoo on being recently conferred at Letterfrack GMIT with a Professional Diploma in Education (Construction Studies and Design & Communication Graphics).

The Bazaar

Drumreilly annual Bazaar, which ran on Friday and Saturday nights, was

a successful fundraiser. The Committee members wish to thank all who

attended, sold and purchased tickets, donated prizes and helped in manifold ways. The following were the winners of the larger prizes: Parish draw: €200: Mrs Maggie Keegan, Killameen; €100: Mrs Mary Gaffney, Corrala; €50: James Maguire. School Draw I pod: Colin McKeon, Newtowngore. Weight of Christmas Cake: Mrs Rose Conefrey, Corrawallen; Door Prizes: Bottle of Whiskey: Paddy O’Rourke, Carrigallen and €10: Seamus Corby, Kilmore. Computer Tablet: Caoimhe Gaffney, Mullaghboy. Christmas Hamper: Séamus Corby, Kilmore.

New arrival

Heartiest congratulations to Christopher and Carmel Mimna on the birth of their baby daughter, the happy event also bringing great joy to proud grandparents Christy and Anna Rose and all the Mimna and Connolly family members. D. G.

Recalling December 1994

Thirty one tables were filled at the Christmas Whist Drive in Drumreilly Community Centre. Drumreilly G.A.A. Club hosted a semi final of Scor na nÓg. Winston Harkness and Daphne Hyland announced their engagement. Rachel Kennedy, Aughoo was winner of three medals for dancing at the Ita Cadwell Memorial Feis in St. Brigid’s G.A.A. Club, Navan Rd., Dublin. St. Mary’s Youth Band gave a delightful rendition of hymns at Midnight Mass in St. Mary’s Church, Drumlea on Christmas Eve. Joanne and Michelle and Marie Donohoe, members of the Aughawillan Senior Ladies winning teams were presented with both 1994 League and Championship medals Allen Gaels defeated Drumreilly by 2-8 to 0-5 in the Leitrim Junior Championship final in Fenagh. The Drumreilly panel was Noel Corby, Seán Masterson, Noel Maxwell, Séamus Corby, Stephen Fee, Michael Holahan, Seán Mitchell, Conal McGovern, Kevin McNamee, Gary Donohoe (2pts.), Kevin McNamee (pt.), Michael Maguire, Peter McGirl R.I.P., James Holahan (2pts), Noel McGirl, Johnny McGee, John Donegan, Michael McGirl. Frank Holahan’s three goals and a point turbo-charged Drumreilly to a five points victory in

a Division 1 game over Cloone. Drumlea N.S. (Cumann na mBunscoileanna Three Teacher Schools Competition winners, Drumreilly U-12 Rural

Champions and Drumreilly U-14 League winners were presented with their

medals. The following were the recipients: (School Panel):Declan McGirl, Adrian McGirl, Kevin Holahan, Mattie Fee, Mary McKeon, John Beirne, Declan Maxwell, Francis Holahan, James Holahan, Damian Holahan, Colm Declan Fee, Linda O Reilly, Jennifer O Reilly, Donohoe, Derek Donegan, Declan Gannon, Pádraig Fee, Nathan, Maguire, Tomás Fee, Gabriel Mitchell, Shane Mitchell, George Gannon and Damian Mitchell. U-12s: Noel Darcy, Damian Holahan, Kevin Holahan, Michael Quinn, Adrian McGirl, Mary McKeon, Declan Maxwell, Damian McGovern, Francis Holahan, James Holahan, Christopher Prior, Gerard Conlon, Linda O’Reilly Damian Dolan, Nigel Flanagan, Barry Prior, Nathan Maguire, Nigel Maguire, Padraig Fee, Declan Gannon, Jennifer O Reilly, Ciaran McTague, Seán Quinn, Gabriel Mitchell, Damian Mitchell, Michael Holahan. (U-14s): Karl Gallogly, Anthony Mimna, Raymond Holahan, Gary Maxwell, Mattie Fee, Declan Maxwell, Tony Lunney, John McKeon, Ciaran Conlon, Martin McGovern, Jarlath Prior, Claire Holahan, James Holahan, Evonne Maxwell, Gavin Beirne, Damian Holahan, Damian McGovern, Sinéad Quinn, Ciaran Dolan and Pat Gannon. The death took place in the United States of former Drumconlevan resident Mrs. Mary McEnroy, nee Galligan. R. I. P.

Active Age Snippets

There was an attendance of sixteen members at the weekly meeting of Drumreilly Active Age Group on Wednesday of last week. A report was given on the recent P.P.N. meeting in Ballinamore Community Centre. Three of our members had attended the Go for Life meeting in Ballinamore. Four members will attend the meeting in Sligo. On the question of Food Grants further information will be supplied in 2015. The good wishes of our members and those of the Fenagh Group for early recovery following operations were sent to Frances O’Reilly and Maureen Quinn.