Dromod local news Jan 7

SEAN NOS: Thanks to all who voted on New Year's Eve and put our Sean nos Dancers from the West "Sean Nos ar an tSionann" through to the next round. I was watching the show and the dancers put on a stunning performance well done to all concerned.

SEAN NOS: Thanks to all who voted on New Year's Eve and put our Sean nos Dancers from the West "Sean Nos ar an tSionann" through to the next round. I was watching the show and the dancers put on a stunning performance well done to all concerned.

You can keep up to date with the dancers on www.facebook.com/seannosarantsionann.


We extend our congratulations to Pat and Linda Farrell, Esker on the birth of their first baby a boy to be named Hugo born at the Rotunda Hospital, Dublin on Wednesday last. We wish you health and happiness for the future.


Despite heavy snow and artic conditions, the Bornacoola gun club had their annual draw on Friday 17th December in the Copper Still bar. The large attendance of hardy souls ensured a very successful night with many different winners of the big number of prizes on offer. Indeed there were some multiple winners. The gun club would like to thank all the people who supported the draw especially the club members for their great work in selling tickets, sourcing prizes and helping on the night. A special mention to all the sponsors for their support. Finally, thanks to Derek for use of the premises and the food and Tom Moran for the music. On the night a large donation was presented to Bornacoola Youth Club by the Gun Club. A presentation of trophies was also given to Vincent Cosgrove and Diarmuid Faughnan for the recent pheasant competition. Winners on the night include Gerry Gearty €250, Peadar Cassells €150, Simon Reilly €100 sponsored by Abbey Murphy, Other winners were Sean Faughnan, Cara Moran, Ciara Shanley, Frank Moran, Trevor Howard, Jeff Murphy, Sean Conboy, Kelly Howard, Ken Kerrigan, Niall O Connor, David Conroy, Dympna Moffatt, Micheal McGowan, Evelyn Reynolds, Marie Larkin, Ursula Conboy, Michael Shanley, David Mulligan, Breege Spellman, Patricia Nugent, Gerry Spellman, Paul Duffy, Tom Reilly, Shane Reynolds, Gerry Moffatt, Yvonne Derwin, Simon Reilly and Tommy Derwin. The draw sponsors include Bornacoola Gun Club, Abbey Murphy, Longford, Annaduff Credit Union, The Copper Still, Chris Gavigan , Connacht Gold, Re Sessiun Bar, Rooskey, Bobby Shanley, Micheal McGowan, Michael Shanley, John Quinn Vet, George Taylor, O'Connors Dromod, Diarmuid Faughnan, Vincent & Ann Cosgrove, Leitrim Inn, Sean Devine, Shane Reynolds, PJ Cox, Carrigallen Mart, Paddy Kilrane, Tommy Sharkey, Cyril Notley, The Vibe Bar, Maguire's Rooskey, Tom Moran, Brendan Shanley, David Mulvihill, Firearms, Ballymahon, Cllr Sean McGowan, Ulster Bank and Longford Town & Country. The Gun club would like to thank everyone especially the local landowners and the people of Bornacoola for support in 2010 and wish all good fortune and health in 2011.


We would like to offer our condolences to Pat and Anne Keenan Abbyshrule on the death of Pats mother Theresa Keenan nee Dalton who died on Christmas day at her daughter's residence. Theresa was laid to rest in Abbyshrule cemetery Monday December 27th. May she Rest in Peace.


On New Years night the Vibe Bar Dromod hosted a very successful talent competition with all proceeds going to the charities Irish Cancer Society and the Leitrim branch of STOP. total raised was in excess of 1600 euro well done to all concerned and Morgan and Bobby from the Vibe would like to say a big thank you to all the competitors all the sponsors and to Feargal McGill for overseeing the event and the music and congratulations to Niall O'Connor who was the winner. A great night was had by one and all. It is hoped this will be an annual event.


We extend our congratulations to Ciaran and Siobhan Lyons, Dromod on the birth of their first baby a boy born at Mullingar General Hospital, Dublin last week.


The Leitrim GAA Supporters (Dublin Branch) invites you to attend the Supporters Club 25th Anniversary Launch on Thursday 20th January 2011 at 8 pm in the Herbert Park Hotel, Ballsbridge, and Dublin (Entrance of Anglesea Rd.).

The 2011 Supporters Club will be launched by Drumkeeran native Joe Layden. Joe is well known to all Leitrim people as the founding Chairman of the Leitrim golf classic in Dublin. Joe, who is a successful businessman had an outstanding football career in the 1960's representing Leitrim (Team Captain), Connaught (Railway Cup Medal), Combined Universities and UCD (Captain and Dublin League and Championship medals). Joe was the founding member of the Leitrim Golf Classic in 1990.

Declan Darcy, captain of Leitrim's Connacht winning team in 1994 will be our special guest on the night.

A video looking back over the last 25 years will be shown on the night showing match highlights over the period and as many supporters as possible.

Joe Flynn Chairman of Leitrim County Board will address the meeting. He will be accompanied by the Leitrim Manager Mickey Moran and his selectors Martin Mc Gowan and Barney Breen

To celebrate the 25th Anniversary of the Club every member who joins this year's club will receive a special memento.

This will be a very special night as we look back with nostalgia and pride at the past 25 years and look forward with hope to the coming session. Please spread the word to anyone from Leitrim who would like to attend I very much look forward to seeing you on the night.

Tea/ coffee will be served from 7.45 p.m. with the compliments of the Herbert Park Hotel.


We would like to offer our condolences to the family and friends of Patrick McGlynn, Mullingar and formerly from Cloonart who died on New Years Eve at Mullingar General Hospital. Pakie was laid to rest yesterday Tuesday in Ballyglass cemetery Mullingar. May he Rest in Peace.


The final Bornacoola Club Draw for 2011 took place in the Copper Still Dromod on Wednesday 29th December, thanks to al for your support and to the great music by Colm Mulligan. Winners were as follows; 100 euro Michael Duignan, 50 euro Damian McGarry, 30 euro Kelly Beirne, 20 euro each; Niall O Connor, M.J. McKiernan, Josephine McGushin, Anna Conboy, John McGuinness, Kelly Howard, Tom Reilly, Cathal Reynolds, Peter Mallon, Bernadette Mulligan and Micheal Mallon. Voucher for meal for two sponsored by the Copper Still was won by Bernadette Mulligan. Tickets for 2011 are now on sale by most club members we would urge all to make a special effort to get one or two extra this year. Subscription for the year is 20 euro.


Last Saturday (New Years Day) saw the 7th Annual Goal Mile take place at the Bornacoola gaa grounds, Dromod followed by the auction of sponsored items in the Copper Still. I was absent on this occasion but I am told that once again it was a very successful event organised by Noel and Mary Mahon. I will publish a full report in the coming weeks.


On Sunday last local soccer club Dynamo Rooskey held charity game for Roscommon/Mayo hospice. The game was between Bornacoola and Kilglass. Playing for Bornacoola were; Ollie Vaughan, David Nugent, Trevor Howard, Shane Conroy, Brendan Farrell, David Nugent, Aidan Reilly, Mark McCloskey, Brian Conroy, Philip Howard while togging out for Kilglass were; Michael McGuinness, David Kelly, Ray Lannon, Thomas Diffley, Declan Kavanagh, Tadgh Maher, Simon Egan, Eddie Conboy, Gerard Nugent, Jim Tighe. Kilglass won 2-1 winning goal in last 5 mins, scored by Tadgh Maher, first score was also by Tadgh Maher, Brian Conroy scored Bornacoola's goal, A chance for Bornacoola to equalise came when Trevor Howard was brought down for a penalty, Kilglass goalie saved well from Philip Howard.