Longford Cathaoirleach Awards honour four local groups

Jessica Thompson


Jessica Thompson



Cathaoirleach's awards

Local politicians and dignitaries gather for the presentation of the Cathaoirleach's Longford Society of SVP Award

Four local groups and individuals were honoured last week at the county council Cathaoirleach Awards.

Every year, Granard, Longford and Ballymahon Municipal Districts each nominate one group or individual for an award, with a fourth award-winner selected by the cathaoirleach of the county, Cllr Luie McEntire.

“The Cathaoirleach Awards were introduced to acknowledge the contribution of volunteers across a wide range of local activities,” said Cllr McEntire.

“Too seldom as a community do we take the time to formally show our appreciation for the enormous work of our dedicated community volunteers - those people who give so generously of their time, energy and expertise for the common good.

“These are the true unsung heroes in our society who discreetly go about their business without expectation of acknowledgement or reward.”

The Cathaoirleach Awards recognise the contributions made by individuals to the business and development of the county as a whole and the awards ceremony is the council's way of showing gratitude.

“In bestowing this honour to our award winners, we also recognise and applaud the trojan work delivered by countless other individuals and groups all over county Longford,” said Cllr McEntire.

“To our award winners I would say: you are a great resource to your own communities, but also an inspirational presence for the wider public, who recognise and applaud the give your work has bestowed on our society,” he concluded.

There were four awards at the ceremony on Monday, April 1.

Glen After School in Edgeworthstown was nominated by Ballymahon Municipal District.

Granard MD was eager to see Jimmy Donoghue honoured with an award, while Longford MD nominated the Longford Society of St Vincent De Paul.

As Cathaoirleach of the county, Cllr Luie McEntire chose to present an award to Center Parcs CEO Martin Dalby.