Longford SFC: Clonguish and Mostrim finish all square in cracking contest

Peter Hanley Motors Senior Football Championship Group 2 - Round 2

senior football championship 2020

Dessie Dolan , the manager of the Mostrim senior football squad pictured at the championship clash against Clonguish at McGee Park on Sunday evening last Photo: Declan Gilmore

A pointed free from Brian Farrell deep into stoppage time earned Mostrim a deserved draw against Clonguish in a cracking Senior Football Championship second round clash at McGee Park on Sunday evening last. 

Clonguish . . . 2-12     Mostrim . . . 1-15

Jack Duggan had given Clonguish the lead from a free in the second minute of stoppage time but they couldn’t hold on with Farrell levelling the game one minute later.

This result puts the title holders Killoe Emmet Og through to the quarter-finals. If Mostrim win, draw, or lose to Killoe by less than five points in the remaining Group 2 fixture they are through to the last eight with Clonguish losing out.

Brian Farrell scored the Mostrim goal in the early stages of the game while Francie Molloy (first half) and Ian McCormack (second half) found the back of the net for Clonguish.

Mostrim led by a point at the break, 1-7 to 1-6, and the ding-dong battle continued in a tense and exciting second half as the sides finished all square. 

CLONGUISH: Declan McKenna; Neil Devlin, Stephen McLoughlin, Anthony Watters; Darragh McLoughlin (0-1), Francis Molloy (1-0), Cian Belton; David Barden, Ronan Sweeney; Alan Gregg, Paul Barden (0-1), Ian McCormack (1-1); Ciaran Williams, Joe O’Brien, Jack Duggan (0-8, five frees).

Subs:- Peter Hanley for A Gregg (46 mins); Conor Shields for C Belton (50 mins); Chris Gordon (0-1) for C Williams (injured, 50 mins). 

MOSTRIM: Ciaran Garvey; Niall Quinn, Dario Ciligianio, Shane Sheridan; Daniel Connell, Shane Kiernan (0-1), Shane Campbell; Fintan Coyle, Seamus Hannon; Alan O’Hara, Darragh Doherty (0-8, five frees), Tiarnan Hussey; Cillian Lynn, Brian Farrell (1-6, three frees, one ‘45), Padraig Joyce.

Subs:- Martin Coyle for F Coyle and Luke Kelly for A O’Hara (57 mins). 

Referee: Hugh O’Kane (Longford Slashers). 

To continue reading this article, please register and log in.

Registration is free and you can also sign up to our newsletter to keep up to date with your latest local news!


Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.