Longford hurlers overcome Cavan to reach the league title decider

Allianz National Hurling League Division 3B - Round 4

allianz national hurling league division 3

Enda Naughton pictured in action for the Longford hurlers.

The Longford seniors hurlers booked their place in the National League Division 3B Final against Sligo on March 9 courtesy of a six point win over Cavan at Kingspan Breffni Park on Sunday.

Longford . . . 3-10     Cavan . . . 0-13

Reuben Murray, Bart Hanley and David Buckley scored the goals which they all took very well. Longford were clinical in front of the posts and that was the difference between the sides.

 In the 14th minute Longford got their first goal when the ball fell nicely to Reuben Murray who cut inside and found the back of the net with a well struck shot.

In the 21st minute Longford got their second goal when Bart Hanley finished the ball to the net from a tight angle and the visitors led by three points at the break, 2-3 to 0-6.

Longford extended their lead in the 37th minute when chief marksman Cathal Mullane fired over a good point before they got their third goal to settle the issue against Cavan. David Buckley picked up the ball, went inside and finished with a good strike.

CAVAN: Darren Sheridan; Neasan Neary, Caolan Kelly, Darragh Brady; Ronan O’Hagan, Anthony Sheridan (0-1), Matthew Hynes (0-1); Diarmuid Carney (0-8,6f), Jack Barry; Mark Moffett, Mark Hayes (0-1), Eugene Hill; Cillian Sheanon (0-1), Hugh Briody, Caoimhin Carney (0-1).

Subs:- Jack Carney for E Hill (half-time); Enda Shalvey for R O’Hagan and Mark Sexton for D Brady (51 mins); Cormac Hill for H Briody (65 mins).

LONGFORD: Eanna Daly; Paddy Corcoran, Gerard Moore, Johnny Casey; Bart Hanley (1-0), Karl Murray, Paul Leonard; Paul Barden, David Buckley (1-0); Shane O’Brien, Enda Naughton, Cian Kavanagh; Reuben Murray (1-3,1f), Cathal Mullane (0-7,3f), Daniel Connell.

Subs:- Evan Tully for C Kavanagh (injured, 27 mins); Michael Devlin for S O’Brien (51 mins); Cian McLoughlin for P Leonard (60 mins); Maithiu O’Donohue for D Connell (68 mins).

Referee: Aidan Ferguson (Fermanagh).  

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.