Longford and Offaly finish all square in ladies league clash

Lidl Ladies Football National League Division 3 - Round 3

lidl ladies football national league division 3

Niamh Darcy pictured in action for Longford. Photo: Syl Healy

A point from Michelle Farrell in the 60th minute earned Longford a draw in the Lidl Ladies Football National League Division 3 game against Offaly in Birr on Saturday.  

Offaly . . . 2-11      Longford . . . 3-8

Nearly 10 minutes of stoppage time was played with both sides having enough possession and chances to claim the win but they had to settle for a share of the spoils.

Longford had to play over 40 minutes with 14 players after Leanne Keegan was sent-off in the 21st minute.

Despite the numerical disadvantage Longford could and should have won the game but  they panicked on occasions, gave away the ball cheaply and missed scoring chances.

Aided by a strong wind Offaly went in at the break with a three point lead, 1-7 to 1-4, but Longford battled back in the second half as the sides ended up all square in the finish.

Emer Heaney and Aisling Greene (2) scored the goals for Longford while Mairead Daly clocked up 2-7 (seven frees) for Offaly.  

OFFALY: Lauren Dunne; Emer Nally, Aoife Carey, Nicole Byrne; Annie Kehoe, Emma Maher, Roisin Ennis (0-2); Maria Kelly, Anne Marie McCormack; Katie Kehoe, Sarah Cummins (0-1), Amy Gavin Mangan; Mairead Daly (2-7,7f), Dawn Hannon (0-1), Fiona Stephens.

Subs:- Sarah Kehoe for A Carey (half-time); A Carey for AM McCormack (52 mins), Roisin Mealiffe for K Kehoe (58 mins).

LONGFORD: Aine Barry; Mairead Moore, Leanne Keegan, Rachel O’Farrell; Clare Farrell, Mairead Reynolds, Niamh Darcy; Orla Nevin, Michelle Noonan; Michelle Farrell (0-5,4f), Ciara Healy (0-1), Emer Heaney (1-0); Anna McDonnell, Aisling Greene (2-2), Sarah Shannon.

Subs:- Ailish Noonan for M Noonan and Caoimhe Lohan for S Shannon (35 mins); Laura Gallagher for M Moore (38 mins); Eimear O’Brien for M Reynolds (39 mins); Aisling McCormack for N Darcy (43 mins), Kara Shannon for A McDonnell (48 mins).

Referee: Niall McCormack (Laois).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.