Mercy Ballymahon Secondary School suffer last gasp defeat in Ladies Leinster ‘C’ Football Final

Lidl Ladies Football Leinster Post-Primary Schools Senior ‘C’ Championship Final

lidl ladies football leinster schools senior 'C' final

Clodagh Dillon pictured in action for Mercy Ballymahon SS against Scoil Mhuire, Trim. Action from the Ladies Football Leinster Post-Primary Schools Senior 'C' Championship Final. Photo: Syl Healy

A goal from Sarah Lynch in stoppage time saw Scoil Mhuire, Trim claim the Ladies Leinster Post-Primary Schools Senior ‘C’ Football title at the St. Loman’s GAA Grounds, Mullingar on Friday.

Scoil Mhuire, Trim . . 4-9  Mercy Ballymahon Secondary School . . 5-3

The final could have gone either way and in the 59th minute a free from Leah Devine put Scoil Mhuire back on level terms.  Trim piled on the pressure looking for a score to edge them back in front and in the second minute of stoppage time a cross from the impressive Ali Sherlock was finished to the net by Lynch.

It was the proverbial game of two halves; Ballymahon SS were the better team in the first half and led by six points at the break (4-2 to 2-2) while Trim were a different proposition on the changeover. In the third quarter of the game the Meath side turned the six point deficit into a one point lead, scoring 1-4 without reply, and they eventually emerged victorious in the exciting finish.

SCOIL MHUIRE TRIM:  Aoife Murray; Hannah Kealey, Niamh Newman, Caitlin Hamilton; Eimear Fagan, Rachel Troy, Aisling McCabe; Sarah Ennis, Leah Devine (0-4,4f); Leah Dennehy (0-1), Sarah Lynch (2-0), Sophia Payne; Ali Sherlock (2-0), Caroline Quinn (0-4,1f), Emma Regan.

Sub:- Orla Ferguson for H Kealey (37 mins).

MERCY BALLYMAHON SECONDARY SCHOOL: Rebeka Stavuse; Katie Smith, Sarah Horan, Roisin Leen; Rebecca O’Kane, Clodagh Dillon, Aine Bannon; Ciara Healy (1-1, goal from penalty), Aishling McCormack; Petrina Carrigy, Clodagh Lohan, Caoimhe Lohan; Cliodhna Allen (0-1), Julieann Moran (2-0), Zoe Guinnane (1-0).

Subs:- Muireann Claffey for A Bannon, Lauren Maguire for Caoimhe Lohan and Melissa O’Kane (1-1) for Z Guinnane (38 mins); Ciara Mulligan for P Carrigy (46 mins).

Referee: Ciaran Groome (Offaly).

Full match report and pictures in the Longford Leader, on sale next Wednesday  

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.