19 Aug 2022

Longford's Mercy Ballymahon Secondary School U-16 girls through to the All-Ireland Junior ‘B’ title decider

Mercy Ballymahon Secondary School U-16 girls through to the All-Ireland Junior ‘B’ title decider

Muirinn Claffey pictured in action for Mercy Ballymahon SS against Colaiste Oiriall (Monaghan) in the Ladies Football All-Ireland Post-Primary Schools U-16 'B' Championship semi-final. Pic: Syl Healy

Mercy Ballymahon Secondary School cruised into the final of the Ladies All-Ireland Junior ‘B’ Post-Primary Schools Championship following a very easy win over Monaghan opponents Colaiste Oiriall.  

Lidl Ladies Football All-Ireland Post-Primary Schools Junior (U-16) ‘B’ Championship Semi-Final

Mercy Ballymahon Secondary School . . . . . 10-14

Colaiste Oiriall, Monaghan . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5-3


The south Longford school dominated the game from start to finish at Breffni Park (3G pitch) on Monday and were superior in all areas of the field. The star of the show was Sarah Dillon from Milltown in Westmeath who registered the tremendous total of 6-2.

Ballymahon SS built up a massive 9-10 to 1-2 half-time lead as the Monaghan side were outclassed by the impressive Leinster champions.

MERCY BALLYMAHON SECONDARY SCHOOL:  Blathnaid McDonagh; Caoimhe Lohan (1-0), Roisín Leen, Sinead O’Neill; Rebecca O’Kane, Clodagh Dillon (0-1), Muireann Claffey; Petrina Carrigy (0-1), Aisling McCormack (0-2); Ciara Healy (1-1, 1f), Ciara Mulligan, Zoe Guinnane (1-0); Ciara Foxe (0-4), Clodagh Lohan (1-0), Sarah Dillon (6-2).

Subs:- Louise Lynn for R O’Kane and Clare Shaw for S O’Neill (34 mins); Emma Ballesty (0-1) for S Dillon and Julieann Moran (0-1) for C Mulligan (42 mins); Maeve Greene for Z Guinnane (48 mins).

COLAISTE OIRIALL MONAGHAN: Gemma Nic Seáin; Tara Ní Bhroin, Aimee Ní Dhufaigh, Éadaoin Nic Cearáin; Mia Ní Raghallaigh (1-0), Emily Ní Bhraonáin, Jane Nig Fhinn; Chloe Níc Ghiolla Bhríde (1-2), Caoimhe Níc an Bhaird (3-0); Leah Ní Chuinneagáin, Uainín Ní Chonghaile, Ailsing Ní Ghallchóir; Caoimhe Ní Mhaolchallan, Aoibheann Ní Thréinir, Saloni Arya.

Subs:- Abbie Ní Fhionnagáin for M Ni Raghallaigh and Laura Ni Dhroma (0-1) for A Ni Threinir (half-time); Alana Ni Chorragain for U Ni Chonghaile (45 mins); Helen Nic Criostail for Saloni Arya (48 mins).

Referee: Conor Dourneen (Cavan).

Full report in the Longford Leader, on sale on Wednesday

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.