Cashel/St Brigid’s Killashee retain the U-21 ‘B’ title

Deniese O'Flaherty


Deniese O'Flaherty


Cashel/St Brigid’s Killashee retain the U-21 ‘B’ title

Andrew Farrell on the ball for Cashel/Killashee in his attempt to evade the challenge of Abbeylara opponent Mel Brady in the U-21 'B' Final. Photo: Syl Healy

Three goals from Andrew Farrell proved decisive as Cashel/St Brigid’s Killashee got the better of Abbeylara to win the U-21 ‘B’ Football Championship title for the second year in a row.


Under 21 ‘B’ Football Championship (13-A-Side) Final

Cashel/St Brigid’s Killashee . . . 3-11   Abbeylara . . . 1-12

Farrell got his first goal in the second minute of the final at Emmet Park on Sunday last and added a second in the 40th minute before clinching the win for the amalgamation with a third goal in the 59th minute when there was just two points between the sides.

CASHEL/ST BRIGID’S KILLASHEE: Patrick Farrell; Eoin Cousins, Mel Farrell; Michael Burke, Mel Burke, James Skelly; Conor Farrell (0-1), Andrew Farrell (3-1); Shane Bannon (0-1), Cillian Lee (0-1), Shane Cosgrove; Ronan Healy (0-6, 5f), Quinten Lee (0-1).

Sub:- Aaron Healy for C Flood (42 mins).

ABBEYLARA: Cillian Gallagher; Cian Brady, Aidan Brady; Aaron Dalton, PJ Masterson, Fergal Lynch; Barry McKiernan (0-5), Connor Berry (1-4); Mel Brady, Russell Brady (0-1), Anthony O’Reilly; Nigel RabbittE (0-2, 2f), Caolan O’Reilly.

Sub:- Colm Brady for C O’Reilly (half-time).

Referee: Jimmy McCormack (Killoe Emmet Og).