Ballymahon surprise Clonguish

Ballymahon . . . . .. . . . . . . . 4-4 Clonguish . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1-10

Ballymahon . . . . .. . . . . . . . 4-4 Clonguish . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1-10

Ballymahon sprang a big surprise when they beat a depleted Clonguish side in the All County Football League Division 1 clash at the revamped Leo Casey Park on Wednesday evening of last week.

Such an unexpected result did not seem possible when Clonguish held a commanding 1-5 to 0-0 lead in the closing stages of the first half but Ballymahon gradually battled their way back into contention and scored two crucial goals in the last five minutes of the game to snatch a dramatic win.

Ballymahon were given little chance of causing an upset, after losing their previous three games in the league, but their cause was certainly helped by the absence of Paul Barden and a few other Clonguish regulars.

And the visitors, unbeaten and top of the Division 1 table prior to this fixture, suffered a significant setback when they were reduced to 14 players after prominent corner-forward Darren Carberry was sent-off after scoring a goal and three points.

So not even the most ardent of Ballymahon supporters will be getting carried away with the win but it eases their relegation worries and should be a boost for the games ahead.

Four fisted goals from Thomas Mulvihill (2), John Nevin and substitute Jordan Mulvihill at the end of sweeping movements clinched two vital league points for Ballymahon, who were best served by Niall Noonan, Emmet Finn, Graham Forbes, Sean McMullan, John Nevin, James Kenny and substitutes Matthew Daly and Kyle Fitzmaurice.

BALLYMAHON: Niall Noonan; Brian Nevin, Emmet Finn, Graham Forbes; Niall Sheehy, Sean McMullan, Edward Noonan; Kevin Diffley, John Nevin (1-0); John Reid, Colm Flynn (0-2), Mark Connor; James Kenny (0-1), Thomas Mulvihill (2-0), Edwin Nally (0-1).

Subs used: Matthew Daly, Kyle Fitzmaurice, Jordan Mulvihill (1-0).

CLONGUISH: Mikey McGuinness; Brendan Burke, Enda Williams, Ciaran Corcoran; Shane O’Brien, David Barden, Paddy Corcoran; Stephen Watters, David Faughnan; Stephen Norton (0-2), Joe O’Brien (0-4), Kevin Burke; Paddy Feeney, Derek Duggan (0-1), Darren Carberry (1-3).

Sub used:- Paddy Dowd.

Referee: Donal Kane

(Young Grattans).