23 May 2022

Anthony and Eimear retain Longford ploughing titles

Longford ploughing

Paddy Whitney, Grace Kearney and Eamon Kiernan pictured with the tractor used for the celebrity ploughing at the recent ploughing championships in Granard. Picture Shelley Corcoran

Anthony Reynolds from Barne, Edgeworthstown added another medal to his bustling collection lately, as he took the top spot in the senior class at the Longford Ploughing championships in Granard, Sunday March 24.

The class was sponsored by Granard Farmer’s Mart and this is not Anthony’s only success in the competitions, as he was also previously the Intermediate champion on three occasions, 1994, 2012 and 2017.

Anthony beat off competition from second placed Matthew Simms of Donegal and fellow Edgeworthstown native Sean Monaghan who finished third, on his way to glory.

Anthony will now go on to compete on behalf of Longford at the upcoming National Ploughing Championships which will be held in Carlow this coming September.

In the other classes in Granard on Sunday, Eimear Monaghan was again named Queen of the Plough, with Joanne Deery of Monaghan beating Roscommon’s Pauline Lavin to the Farmerette open title.

Eimear will now be crowned Queen of the Plough at the presentation dance in Creegan's of Bunlahy on Saturday, April 6, with music on the night by Night Fever.

The Junior open class was won by Barry White of Dublin, with Abbeyshrule’s Jack Mills taking the Under 21 confined crown.
David Johnston of Leitrim beat Sligo’s Allan Scanlon to the Under 21 open title, with Andrew Stewart of Killashee named as Under 28 confined winner. The Under 28 open class was won by Dennis Dunne of Kildare.

In the 3-furrow confined, Tom Reynolds of Edgeworthstown came out on top, while Andrew Ennis Westmeath won the 3-furrow open.

The Horse Ploughing Open & Confined class was won by Fiona Egan of Kenagh, while Liam Flynn of Sligo won the Donkey class. Edward Allen won the horse plough open.

In the Vintage 2-furrow mounted confined pre-1958 class, Killashee’s Billy Stewart fought off stiff competition from Paddy Whitney of Edgeworthstown to win gold.

James Adair from Antrim won the Vintage 2-furrow mounted open pre-1958 and the Vintage 2-furrow mounted classic was won by Seamus McDaniel of Sligo, who beat Longford’s David Stewart and Oliver Walsh on his way to victory.

The winner of the vintage trailer open was David Grattan of Northern Ireland, with Charles Stewart named as the winner of the vintage trailer confined class and the Friends of Ferguson class was won by Jack O’Brien of Fermanagh.

Gavin Duffy won the Pedestrian Horse class, Bruno McCormack of Meath won the vintage single furrow open, John King won the vintage single furrow confined.

In the loy competitions, Kathleen Donaghy won the ladies senior open, Chloe Daly took the ladies junior open crown, Brian Casey of Killoe won the senior confined, Gerry Mallon of Donegal won the senior open, Matt Connell Jnr of Granard won the Junior Loy confined, Ronan Marren of Sligo won the junior loy open, Brian Kiernan of Leitrim won the U25 loy and Liam Paul Dolan, of Arva was named U18 champion.

Don't forget, the novice ploughing workshop will take place on the lands of local agri-advisor Paul Belton this coming Saturday, March 30.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.