21 May 2022

17 candidates register to run in European Parliament elections

A team of 17 register to run in European Parliament elections

A team of 17 register to run in European Parliament elections

The deadline has officially passed to register as a candidate for the upcoming European Parliament elections.

Nominations closed at 12pm on Monday, April 15 and a total of 17 candidates have declared their intention to run in the elections as part of the Midlands North West constituency. A total of 59 candidates from throughout Ireland’s three constituencies have registered.

There are four seats up for grabs in the Midlands North West voting district with candidates from throughout the constituency, which comprises of Longford, Westmeath, Leitrim, Monaghan, Donegal, Cavan, Louth, Galway, Roscommon, Mayo, Sligo, Kildare and Meath.

The current outgoing MEPs are Luke ‘Ming’ Flanagan, Matt Carthy, Mairead McGuinness and Marian Harkin. Marian Harkin is the only member of the four current MEPs who has stood down ahead of the elections in May.

Also see: GALLERY| Fleadh Cheoil Longfoirt

There are seven registered Independent candidates in total, including Peter Casey, Luke ‘Ming’ Flanagan, Fidelma Healy Eames, James Miller, Dilip Mahapatra, Diarmaid Mulcahy and Olive O’Connor.

Next up is Fianna Fáil who have two candidates, Anne Rabbitte and Brendan Smith. For Fine Gael, Mairead McGuinness will try to retain her seat, while former Rose of Tralee Maria Walsh will also run on behalf of Fine Gael. Michael O’Dowd will fly the flag for Renua, with Sinn Féin’s Matt Carthy also re-running. Cyril Brennan is running on behalf of People before profit.

The elections take place this coming Wednesday, May 24.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.