25 May 2022

Longford quintet help goal hungry DCU to glory in Electric Ireland Freshers Football Division 1 Final 

Longford quintet help goal hungry DCU to glory in Electric Ireland Freshers Football Division 1 Final 

Longford quintet Keelin McGann (Kenagh), Jack Duggan (Clonguish), Sean O'Sullivan (Sean Connolly's), Bryan Masterson (Abbeylara) and Eoin McGuinness (Longford Slashers) were part of the Dublin City University squad that overcame University College Cork by 6-9 to 2-13 in the Electric Ireland Freshers Football Division 1 Final at the IT Carlow grounds last night (Thursday, February 17).

Duggan grabbed 1-1 after he was sprung from the bench after 45 minutes while McCann contributed two points as DCU captured the Davy Billings Cup.

At the interval, DCU enjoyed a 2-5 to 1-5 advantage, however, playing great attacking football, DCU plundered for three goals in a-six minute spell early in the second half as they made their push for glory. 

Scorers for DCU: L Deigan (2-1); E Smith (0-4, 2f); E Wilde (1m), J Duggan (1-1 each); C Eccles, S Smith (1-0 each); K McGann (0-2).

Scorers for UCC: F O'Brien (2f), E Walsh (2f)(1-2 each); C O Beaglaoigh (0-3,1f); R Murphy, C Burke (0-2 each); K Scannel, A Sheehy (0-1 each).

DCU: J Casey (Skerries Harps); C Coyle (Cloughaneely), J McGeown (Carrickmacross Emmets), D Robertson (Ballymun Kickhams); S Giles (Whitehall Colmcilles), A Gavin (Ballyboden St Endas), R Keane (Mayo Gaels); C Eccles (Cremartin), J Browne (Donaghmore Ashbourne); K McGann (Kenagh), E Wilde (Skerries Harps), S Smith (Na Fianna); L Deigan (Shamrock Gaels), J Carolan (Simonstown Gaels), E Smith (Drumcliffe Rosses Point).

Subs: C Caulfield (Trim) for Browne (45); J Duggan (Clonguish) for Wilde (45); M McDonald (Ballyboden St Endas) for Smith (55); C Calvey (Westport) for Smith (58)

UCC: A Murphy (Renard); L Kennedy (Grangemockler), N Gough (Bishopstown), D Peet (Clonakilty); M Keane (Listry), J Rosales Harrington (Castletownbere), K Scannel (Carbery Rangers); R Murphy (Listry), T O’hAiniféin (Na Gaeil); C McCarthy (Glanmire), C O Beaglaoigh (An Ghaeltacht), A Sheehy (Douglas); F O’Brien (St Pat’s Blennerville), E Walsh (Milltown/Castlemaine), C Burke (Milltown/Castlemaine).

Subs: S Daly (Grangemockler) for Keane (40); J Bourke (Na Gaeil) for Harrington (41); Keane for Kennedy (46), O Kelleher (Glanmire) for Sheehy (51).

Referee: Brendan Cawley (Kildare).

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.