Longford Town beat Limerick to move back to the top of the table

SSE Airtricity League First Division - Round 10

Airtricity League First Division

Dean Byrne, who scored the winning goal for Longford Town against Limerick at City Calling Stadium.

A terrific strike from substitute Dean Byrne in the 73rd minute saw Longford Town move back to the top of the First Division table with a hard fought win over 10 man Limerick at City Calling Stadium on Saturday night.

Byrne picked up the ball outside the box and curled a fantastic shot to the top corner of the net to finally break the deadlock in what had been a frustrating game for Neale Fenn’s side.

Limerick had a great chance to open the scoring in the 52nd minute but Town keeper Lee Steacy saved a Shane Tracy penalty after Conor Ellis was taken down in the box.

The visitors were then reduced to 10 men in the 61st minute when Sean McSweeney was shown a straight red card for a reckless challenge on Town defender Shane Elworthy. Jason Hughes was lucky to escape with just  a yellow card minutes later for a two footed lunge on Carlton Ubaezuonu.

Despite having most of the possession Longford didn’t really trouble Limerick keeper Jack Brady. The best chance for the home side in the first half fell to Adam Evans but his effort was cleared off the line.

It eventually came right for the Town when Dean Byrne planted a superb shot past the Limerick keeper in the 73rd minute.

Longford lived dangerously after taking the lead but held out for the win that moves them back to the summit of the First Division and still unbeaten in the league this season.

LONGFORD TOWN: Lee Steacy; Shane Elworthy, Mick McDonnell, Conor Kenna, Anto Breslin; Carlton Ubaezuonu, Aodh Dervin, Dean Zambra, Sean Brennan; Adam Evans, Sam Verdon.

Subs:- Dean Byrne for Evans (56 mins); Aaron Dobbs for Verdon (71 mins); Karl Chambers for Ubaezuonu (80 mins).

LIMERICK FC: Jack Brady; Shaun Kelly, Robbie Williams, Killian Brouder, Aaron Fitzgerald; Conor Ellis, Darren Murphy, Jason Hughes, Shane Tracy, Karl O’Sullivan; Sean McSweeney.

Referee: Alan Patchell (Dublin).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.