Longford Town let victory slip as Cobh Ramblers battle back to snatch draw

SSE Airtricity League First Division - Round 1

Airtricity League First Division

Chris Mulhall, who scored the first goal for Longford Town in the 5th minute of the match against Cobh Ramblers at City Calling Stadium.

Longford Town blew a glorious opportunity of collecting all three league points in the opening First Division fixture of the 2018 season when they let victory slip from their grasp in the eventual draw against Cobh Ramblers at City Calling Stadium on Saturday night.

Longford Town . . . 2     Cobh Ramblers . . . 2

After producing a fine performance in the first half to lead 2-0 at the break with Chris Mulhall (5th minute) and Dean Zambra (43rd minute) scoring the goals, Neale Fenn’s side appeared to be in total control with their attractive brand of football certainly pleasing the enthusiastic home supporters among the official attendance of 575.

Sam Verdon had a great chance of putting the issue well and truly beyond all doubt in the 62nd minute when his close range effort to find the back of the net was saved by Paul Hunt, the former Town keeper.

Cobh were thrown a lifeline when substitute Andrew Wall scored from a header in the 65th minute after connecting with a corner and that proved to be a big boost for the revitalisted visitors who went on to snatch the equaliser in the 81st minute.

A costly mistake by Longford defender Michael McDonnell was punished by Cian Leonard who pounced on the loose ball to direct a well struck low shot from outside the box into the corner of the net past the opposing keeper Michael Kelly.

LONGFORD TOWN (4-4-2): Michael Kelly; Shane Elworthy, Michael McDonnell, Daniel O’Reilly, Alan Kehoe; Peter Hopkins, Dean Zambra, Shane O’Connor, Darren Meenan; Chris Mulhall, Sam Verdon.

Sub:- Evan Galvin for Meenan (87 mins).

Subs (not used):- Tristan Noack-Hofmann, Aodh Dervin, Jamie Hollywood, Karl Chambers, Dean Byrne, Jack Brady.  

COBH RAMBLERS (3-5-2): Paul Hunt; Ben O’Riordan, James McSweeney, Adam O’Sullivan; Chris Fleming, Darren Murphy, Jack Lynch, Anthony McAlavey, Ian Mylod; David Hurley, Cian Leonard.

Subs:- Andrew Wall for Lynch (56 mins); Denzil Fernandes for O’Sullivan (70 mins).

Subs (not used):- Kevin Taylor, Stephen Christopher, Karl Caulfield, John Dineen, Adam Mylod.

Referee: Damien McGraith (Mayo).

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.