Mullinalaghta duo Patrick Fox and Donal McElligott honoured with AIB GAA Club Players’ Awards

Defenders from Longford and Leinster champions feature on star-studded selection

Mullinalaghta duo Patrick Fox and Donal McElligott honoured with AIB GAA Club Players’ Awards

Mullinalaghta duo Patrick Fox and Donal McElligott honoured with AIB GAA Club Players’ Awards

History making Leinster senior club champions Mullinalaghta have been honoured for their magnificent achievement with the selection of defenders Patrick Fox and Donal McElligott on the star-studded team that make up the AIB GAA Club Players’ Awards for football – which will be presented at a banquet in Croke Park this coming Saturday evening.

Corofin duo Gary Sice and Kieran Molloy are joined by Gaoth Dobhair star Kevin Cassidy in the short list announced for the 2019 AIB GAA Club Footballer of the Year award.

Also read: Claiming provincial glory the zenith for classy Mullinalaghta

Sice and Molloy were monumental figures for the all-conquering Galway champions who successfully retained their AIB All-Ireland club title in such fine style on St Patrick’s Day – a fourth senior All-Ireland for the club in all.

Goalkeeper Bernard Power, defender Liam Silke, midfielder Daithí Burke and forwards Jason Leonard and Martin Farragher complete the seven strong Corofin representation.

Silke and Farragher were also chosen 12 months ago on what was the inaugural AIB GAA Club Players’ Awards.

Full-forward Kevin Cassidy was an inspirational presence for Donegal champions Gaoth Dobhair as they went on the march to a first ever Ulster senior title and an epic semi-final joust with Corofin.

Odhrán Mac Niallais and Odhrán McFadden-Ferry are also representing Gaoth Dobhair on the team.

Munster champions and All-Ireland finalists Dr Crokes are represented by centre-half-back Gavin White and forwards Kieran O’Leary and Tony Brosnan.

Uachtarán Cumann Lúthchleas Gael John Horan said: “My congratulations to the players and the clubs who have been chosen for these awards on the back of what was another truly memorable AIB GAA Club Championship campaign.

“Every year the club championship produces a treasure trove of highlights; great stories of club endeavour, great battles and inspirational displays and of people and communities making memories to last a lifetime.

“These awards look to pay tribute to the stand out performers and our thanks to AIB for enabling us to make this scheme possible.”

Denis O’Callaghan, Head of Retail Banking, AIB, said: “AIB is proud to celebrate its 28th year sponsoring the Club Championships, and to partner with the GAA for the second time for the AIB GAA Club Players Awards. The awards celebrate the best performing club players from across Ireland that reached the provincial stages of the AIB GAA Club Championships.

“We are delighted to announce the AIB GAA Club Football Team of the Year. The passion and commitment shown by these players, as well as the supporters, is something which has brought so much joy to the country nationwide. To be named on the Club Hurling and Football Teams of the Year is a real honour for these players, their families, communities, and clubs.”

“On behalf of AIB I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate each of the winners and to thank the national and regional sports media for taking the time to cast their votes and for their continued support for the AIB GAA Club Championships"

The team was chosen by a panel of national and regional media who considered outstanding performances over the provincial and All-Ireland series. The winner of the Footballer of the Year Award will be announced live on Saturday night at Croke Park and presented by Uachtarán John Horan.

AIB GAA Club Players’ Awards – Football 2019

Bernard Power (Corofin)
Liam Silke (Corofin)
Patrick Fox (Mullinalaghta)
Odhrán McFadden-Ferry (Gaoth Dobhair)
Kieran Molloy (Corofin)
Gavin White (Dr Crokes)
Donal McElligott (Mullinalaghta)
Daithí Burke (Corofin)
Odhrán MacNiallais (Gaoth Dobhair)
Gary Sice (Corofin)
Kieran O’Leary (Dr Crokes)
Jason Leonard (Corofin)
Tony Brosnan (Dr Crokes)
Kevin Cassidy (Gaoth Dobhair)
Martin Farragher (Corofin)


Kevin Cassidy (Gaoth Dobhair), Kieran Molloy (Corofin), Gary Sice (Corofin)


To continue reading this article, please register and log in.

Registration is free and you can also sign up to our newsletter to keep up to date with your latest local news!


Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.