Christmas Poker Classic

Christmas Poker Classic

A Christmas Poker Classic in aid of the Jack & Jill Foundation will take place in the 7 Wonders Bar, Fore, on Saturday, December 20th, starting at 8.30pm. There will be refreshments and a raffle on the night, and tickets are on sale at the 7 Wonders Bar at 25.00 euro each. Make a note in your diary to support a very worthy cause.

Credit Union

Castlepollard Credit Union held their annual general meeting on Monday, December 8th, 2014 in the Parish Community Centre. There was a very good attendance at the meeting. The meeting opened with the Chairman’s address. This was followed by a report of the Board of Directors and amendments to the League Rules. The affiliation fee of 3 euro was approved. The Manager then gave his report. The Auditors Report was the next item on the agenda followed by reports from the committees. The elections to fill vacancies on the supervisory committee and the board of directors then took place. At the end of the meeting the prize draw took place. There was a prize fund of 21,000 euro. Congratulations to all the lucky winners in the draw. The following are the prizewinners - 10,000 euro - Aisling Connaty, Collinstown; 5,000 euro - John and Rose Coleman, Loughpark, Castlepollard; 2,000 euro - Janette McCormack, Loughpark, Castlepollard; 1,000 euro each - Barry Smyth, Derravaragh Court, Castlepollard, and Martin Murphy, Milltown, Castlepollard; 500 euro each - Britta Stewart-Dolan, Mullingar, and Della Brennan, Drumcree; 200 euro each - Kevin and Claire Whelan, Lir Park, Castlepollard, Maura Needham, Kiltoom, Castlepollard, Barbara Heslin, Carlanstown, Castletown-Finea, Robert McLoughlin, Water Street, Castlepollard, and Kathleen Farrell, Castletown-Finea. There was a raffle for those in attendance on the night. The following were the winners of 50 euro each. Congratulations to the five winners:- Ann Nally, Brendan Finglas, Tommy Murray, Joan McConville, Mary Fagan. Refreshments were served at the end of the meeting consisting of tea, coffee and a wide selection of confectionary provided by Collette Grace. These were enjoyed very much by all those in attendance.

Charity cycle

A Charity Cycle in aid of Palliative Care Longford will take place on St. Stephen’s Day, Friday, December 26th, in Granard. There will be two routes, of 20K and 50K respectively, starting from J.V. Donohoes corner house in Granard. Registration takes place at 9am, and the 50K event will start at 10.00am and the 20k at 11am. Refreshments will be served midway and afterwards. Cycle in memory of Breege Gallagher, Granard. Your support will be greatly appreciated.

Christmas Day Walk

Ringtown Hurling Club are holding their annual Christmas day walk in Ringtown in aid of the Mater Hospital Heart and Lung Transplant Unit. The walk will set off from Ringtown GAA Centre, Whitehall, at 10am, and will finish at 1pm. Please make a note and support on the day.

Ringtown GAA AGM

Ringtown GAA Club held their AGM on Friday, November 28th, the following were elected as Club officers:- President: Bill Boyhan; Vice-President: TP Loftus; Honorary Life Presidents: Jimmy Murtagh, Kit Murtagh, Tommy Doyle, Mick Gaffney; Chairperson: Anthony Nea; Vice-Chairperson: Jimmy Moran; Secretary: Nadine Flanagan; Assistant Secretary: Vincent Murtagh; Treasurer: Frankie Boyhan; Assistant Treasurer: Susie Fagan; PRO: Eamonn Doyle; Irish Language Officer: MJ Corrigan; Membership Officer: Noel Murtagh; Park Chairperson: TP Loftus; Hall Chairperson: Thady Burke; Lotto Chairperson: MJ Corrigan; Youth Officer: Keith Melia; Child Protection Officer: Thady Burke; ASAP Officer: Colin Murtagh; Safety Officer: Anthony McMahon; Insurance Officer: Oliver Murtagh; Delegates to County Board: Adrian Moran, Martin Blacoe, Thady Burke, MJ Corrigan; Delegates to Coole FAS: Anthony Nea, Thady Burke, TP Loftus; other Executive Members: Andy Boyhan, Gerry Boylan, Anita Moore, Damien Moran, Tommy Cunningham, Kathleen Moran, Jo Corrigan, Gabriel Kiernan, Sean Bruton. On Friday, October 24th, Ringtown GAA Club held their Underage AGM. The following officers were elected – Chairperson: Adrian Moran, Secretary: James Flynn, Assistant Secretary: Nuala Boyhan, Membership Officers: Brigitte Moran, Anna Moran; Treasurer: Noel Delaney, PRO: Kate Flynn.

Christmas concert

The annual Parish Christmas concert and Draw will take place this coming Wednesday, December 17th, starting at 8pm until 10pm. Various artists will perform on the night, and there are great prizes on offer to be won. There will also be a mini-auction on the night and refreshments.


Householders are urged to maintain their vigilance over the Christmas period, especially with the purchase of expensive and portable electrical goods and other items. Be wary of door to door callers claiming to represent major service providers or Water, Gas inspectors etc. Keep your door firmly closed and contact the Gardai, family, friends and neighbours without delay if in any doubt.