Happy Days!

Happy Days!

Members of Drumreilly Active Age with members of the Mohill, Aughavas/

Cloone and Ballinamore Groups have enjoyed a five day/four night trip to scenic Co. Cork. The party of 38 travelled by coach, and stayed in the Montenotte Hotel in Cork City. The itinerary included a pleasant journey on the motorways and along tree-lined roads, visits to Bantry, a boat ride in Kinsale, visits to Blarney Castle, Fota Wild Life Park, Cork City Gaol etc, The trip was favoured with sunny weather. Thanks to all who contributed to the success of the trip, including especially driver, Seán Kavanagh and Bob Cooper, and in the oft-used words of the latter we say “Happy Days!”

First Communion

Congratulations to the seven children from St. Mary’s N.S. Drumlea on receiving first Holy Communion on Saturday, May 24th in St. Mary’s Church, Drumlea. They are Tara Maguire, Lauren Donohoe, Zosia Mitchell, Calum Mitchell, Oisín Quinn, Jack Huston and Eoin Quinn.

Community Centre

A meeting of Drumreilly Community Centre Committee will be held in the Centre on this Thursday, June 5th at 9p.m. All members are requested to attend

Winners at Bingo

The following were among the winners at last Friday’s Bingo session in Drumreilly Community Centre: Kathleen Canning, Bohey, Nan Connolly, Ardunsaghan, Mary O Rourke, Corlough, Bridie McBrien Camber, Anne

Tierney, Carrigallen, Mickey Flanagan, Drumarigna, Tommy Mulligan, Camber, Mae Canning, Annaghmacullen, Brigid Looby, Curraghtowey,

Debbie Keaney, Aughacashel, Patricia Corby, Ballinamore, M. Brennan,

Donegal Town, Michael McGovern, Crossdrummon, Benny Connolly, Drumlea, Brigid Smith, Mahana, Eileen Wrynn, Tarmon, Siobhán Gannon, Drimmien,

Peggy Flynn, Keshcarrigan, Lily O Neill, Killahurk, M. Honeyman, Tullyoscar, Rose Smith, Drumury, Aidan Dolan, Drumbrick, Anna Rose Mitchell, Augharan, Eileen Gallagher, Mohill, Rose Conefrey, Corrawallen, Declan Darcy, Aughawillan, Mary Curran, Aughavas and Chrissie Gaffney, Mullaghboy. Bingo will continue at 9p.m. On Friday next June 6th.

Division 1 winners

Drumreilly collected two League points with a 1-9 to 0-11 win over Gortletteragh on Saturday May 24th. The team and marksmen were as follows: Mick McGirl, Fergal Mitchell, John McKeon, Ronan McCartin, Graeme Taylor, Seán Fee, Nigel Maguire (0-2), Niall Maguire, Declan Maxwell (0-1), Brian Fee (0-1), James Holahan (0-2), Donal McCabe, Adrian McGirl, Cormac Maguire (0-1), and Conor Gaffney (1-2). Sub: Charlie McElchar. They shared the points on last Saturday evening with a 1-9 all draw against Drumkeerin. The lineout was as follows: Mick McGirl, Fergal Mitchell, Ronan McCartin (0-1), John McKeon, Fergal Mitchell, Nigel Maguire (0-5), Seán Fee, Graeme Taylor, Niall Maguire, Declan Maxwell (0-1), Ollie Maguire, James Holahan, Donal McCabe, Charlie McElchar, Cormac Maguire (0-1), Conor Gaffney (1-1). Subs: Dermot Holahan, Dylan Mimna.

Election results

For the record, we record the votes tally of the 218 cast for the nine

Ballinamore Area candidates in Drumlea Polling Station in the recent

Local Election: Brendan Barry (10), Gerry Dolan (0), Cillian Ellis (12), Francie Gilmartin (1), Gordon Hughes (20), Martin Kenny (7), John McCartin (74), Enda McGloin (0), Paddy O Rourke (66). Congratulations to John McCartin, Cillian Ellis, Paddy O Rourke and Martin Kenny on retaining their seats, and commiserations to those who did not succeed.

Recalling June 1992

Drumreilly defeated 1991 champions Aughavas in the final of the U-16 Rural Championship in Ballinamore on 3-14 to1-9 score. The team was Denis Smith, Frank Flynn, Seán Mitchell, Declan McCauley, Niall Bohn, Gene Connolly, Martin Flynn (1-2), Thomas Connolly, Conal McGovern (2-2), Noel McGirl (0-4), Shane Maguire (0-4, Paul Bohan (0-2)and Enda Beirne. Subs: Oliver Looby R.I.P. and Ciaran Holahan. The following were among the medal winners at Ballinamore Area Community Games finals: Francis Holahan, Mary McKeon, Bríd Lunney, Jennifer O Reilly, Linda O Reilly, Evonne Maxwell, John McKeon, Tony Lunney, Susanne Hehle, Declan Maxwell and John Hehle. Stephen Fee, Mullaghboy was off to Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania on a three months Fás Exchange Scholarship. Wedding bells rang in St. Mary’s, Drumlea for Joe Gilheany and Cara Denneny. Bríd Lunney, Mary McKeon and Francis Holahan booked their places in the All Ireland Community Games Finals in Mosney. Marian Mulligan (Anne Prior S.D.) was among the medal

winners at the C.R.N. Dancing Feis in the Mansion House. Rev. Stanley Johnson was instituted as rector of the Corrawallen-Newtowngore-Kildallan parish. Our community was stunned by the death in a road accident of Edward Gannon, Kinkeen. The death took place in Canada of former Gubbs resident Mr. Peter Farrell. R. I. P.


Sympathy is extended to Mrs Rita Delaney, Carrigallen and other relatives on the death of her brother, Mr. Mike Joe Diffley, Drumkielvy. We also condole with the mother, wife, children, sisters, brother, cousins, in- laws and other relatives of the late Con McKiernan, Kilnavart and formerly Killasity. R. I. P.

Parish Ministries

The following are the parish ministries at St. Mary’s Drumlea in June - Readers: Elizabeth Daly and Gráinne Donegan; Collectors: Des Donegan and Dermot Quinn; Counters: Elizabeth Prior, Martina Rudden and Anna Mae Denneny.