U-14 Championship defeat

U-14 Championship defeat

St. Brigid’s were outplayed by a well-drilled Fenagh fifteen in the U-14 15-a-side Championship final in Páirc Seán, Ck on Shannon on last Friday evening. They failed to reproduce the flair and teamwork that had been a feature of their earlier games, and by half time, when they trailed by 2-12 to 0-2, the final outcome was evident. A penalty goal from Evan O Connor in the twentieth minute of the second half, a point each courtesy of Conor McGovern, Dylan Maguire and the great hearted Ciaran Cullen only served to give the scoreboard a less bare appearance. Congratulations to Fenagh on their victory. The St. Brigid’s lineout was as follows: Mark Stringer, Darren Prior, Daire Maxwell, Richard Fitzpatrick, Hughie Maguire, Dylan Maguire (2pts), Michael O’Haire, Aaron Hoare, Evan O’Connor (gl) Evan Prior, Ciaran Cullen, Stephen Meissner, Kevin Prior, Ronan McTague, Conor McGovern (pt). Subs used: Michael McTague and Brian Stringer.

Recalling August 1994

St. Mary’s Youth Band at the Ballinamore Festival opening, and won the Award for The Best Dressed Band in Ballyconnell. Mr. Joe Hyland, C.I.E. School Driver of Newtowngore N.S. pupils retired. James Holahan was appointed Leitrim County G.A.A. Coach. The following had booked their tickets to the All Ireland Community Games Finals in Mosney: Mary McKeon (_U-12 100m and Relay), Brid Lunney (U-12 100m and Relay), Francis Holahan (U-12 100 m an Relay), Evonne Maxwell (U-14 800m.) and Patrick O Connell (U-8 Art). Aughawillan Senior Ladies team defeated Fenagh by 3-4 to 1-3 in the final in Cloone. Early lapses proved costly for Garadice Gaels when they were narrowly defeated by 3-11 to 3-10 by St. Francis’ in what was described as a “classic Minor Final” The Garadice Gaels lineout was John Prior, Gene Connolly, Denis Smith, Francis Flynn, Seán Mitchell, Niall Bohan, Declan McCauley, Connell McGovern (0-2), Martin Flynn (2-1), Damian Martin, Noel McGirl, Enda Beirne, Kenneth Darcy (0-2), Thomas Connolly (0-3), and Paul Bohan (1-2). Subs: Michael McGirl, John McGovern and Noel Gannon. Drumreilly defeated Aughavas on a score of 4-12 to 1-8 in the Division 2 Special League Final in Cloone. In Division 1 Drumreilly enjoyed a 5-8 to 0-9 victory over Melvin Gaels in Carrickmakeegan and were beaten1-7 to 1-5 by Drumkeerin in the first round of the Senior Championship. Drumlea

N.S. team, the Drumreilly U-14 and U-12 teams and the Aughawillan U-12 Ladies team were treated to an enjoyable outing to Water-World, Bundoran. The death took place of Kinkeen –born Mrs Catherine Denneny Kenny, Carrigallen. R.I.P.

Division 1 game

By collecting a brace of valuable Division 1 points at Drumreilly’s expense on Saturday last at Páirc Droim Oir Bhealaigh Annaduff reversed the result of their Championship encounter against the same opposition two weeks ago. Drumreilly without the services of influential players defender John McKeon and midfielder Declan Maxwell failed to reproduce the flair that carried them to victory in the Championship game. After the visitors hit the net twice in as minutes, and erratic shooting from play and frees compounded their problems, they were thereafter playing “Catch Up”. Kenny Cox opened Annaduff’s account with a early point. Brian Fee with an accurate fifty yards drive gave Drumreilly temporary parity before Sean McNabola struck with two killer goals in as many minutes. Ray Cox’ point opened a seven point gap. Despite a number of misses in front of the Annaduff posts, Drumreilly narrowed the interval deficit with two Conor Gaffney points to leave the score reading 2-2 to 0-3. D Defiant Drumreilly were to enjoy a purple patch on the resumption. Conor Gaffney finished a forty yards solo run with a point, and James Holahan under pressure and reacting to a “blocked ball”, fisted the ball over the Annaduff lath. Defender Graeme Taylor got in on the scoring act, when he was put through by Ollie Maguire to narrow the deficit to three points. Following Mattie Cox’ 20th minute point and Annaduff’s second point of the half, five points separated the sides. As Drumreilly exerted pressure, they won two frees, and free-takers Conor Gaffney and Brian Fee punished fouls on James and Frank Holahan respectively to leave the scoreboard reading 2-5 to 0-8. The following did duty for Drumreilly: Mick McGirl, Ronan McCartin, Anthony Holahan, Fergal Mitchell, Graeme Taylor (pt.), Seán Fee, Donal McCabe, Ollie Maguire, Nigel Maguire, Adrian McGirl, James Holahan (pt.), Brian Fee, (2pts.), Dermot Holahan, Frank Holahan and Conor Gaffney (4pts.). Sub: Dylan Mimna.