Leitrim v Roscommon

Leitrim v Roscommon

Best wishes to Ray Cox and the Leitrin team in the Hyde on Sunday. Despite not getting promotion, Leitrim under Sean Hagan have made great strides. We must forget “ The Willie Hegarty Factor” where every Roscommon player is an All Star and all Roscommon teams are brilliant. If Roscommon were so good, they would not have been playing in Division 3. Leitrim have beaten Roscommon in their last three competitive matches and are more than capable of winning. Remember in the F.B.D final, Leitrim won easily. Best of luck also to David Duignan and Leitrim in the Junior final.

Best wishes

Best wishes for a speedy recovery are extended to Gerard McGarry, Corduff, after a short spell in hospital.

Drumsna Bingo

Bingo every Thursday night at 9pm.

Best Restaurant in Connacht

The Cottage Restaurant in Jamestown has won the Best Restaurant in Connacht award. The Good Eating Guide Restaurants Awards is a project organised by Portside Media.

Parish/G.A.A Lotto

At the draw held Cox’s Bar, Dromod, there was no Jackpot winner. The numbers drawn were 4, 14, 19, 24. The 50 euro winner was Doreen Ward. The 25 euro winners were M. and M. McWeeney, Geraldine Thornton, Seamus Murray, Billy Beirne. The next draw takes place on Sunday night next in Taylor’s Bar, Drumsna with a Jackpot of 7,000 euro.

95 years young

Congratulations to Hughie Guckian, Correish, Drumsna who celebrated his 95th Birthday last week.

Eslin Marriage

Congratulations to Thomas Beirne and Mairead, both from Eslin who got married in Eslin Church on Friday week last. We wish them many years of happiness.

Death of Parks Reynolds

Deepest Sympathy is extended to the Reynolds family on the death of Patrick (Parks), Reynolds, Knockhall, Rooskey. Parks worked in Hanley’s of Rooskey for many years. He was also a dairy farmer. He was a well known G.A.A player and official. Seamus Lannon paid a moving tribute to Parks at his funeral Mass in Kilglass. May he rest in Peace.

Annaduff defeated

Annaduff were beaten 1-12 to 0-4 in an entertaining Division 4 match in Annaduff on Sunday. Aughnasheelin were the better team and deserved the win against an understrength Annaduff. Annaduff: Kevin Ludlow, Michael Lynch, Thomas Flanagan, Nigel Cox, Dean Gill, Keith Duignan, Ronan Conroy, Brendan Lynch (Capt.), Gerry Newton, Sean Duignan, Alan Cox, Eoin Gill, James Riordan, Joe Cox, Johnny O’Connor. Subs used: Jim McCormack.

Limerick Marathon

Sean Ward from Gortinty finished 30th in the Limerick Marathon in a great time of 3 hours. Well done Sean.