Drumreilly January 14




Recently St. Clare's Ballyjamesduff N.S. Vice-Principal Mr. Karl McCartin and a numbers of his pupils exchanged classroom roles when they engaged their counterparts from Ballyellis N.S. Gorey Co. Wexford on the popular RTE2 "Test the Teachers" programme. After the teachers displayed a variety of skills and knowledge in a number of disciplines Karl and the Breffni boys and girls emerged with a narrow lead over the Wexford reps. Incidentally, Karl who is famed for his deft footwork at his weekly dancing classes, used his limbs to good effect, but his time his style took on a new dimension when his foot juggle with a soccer ball produced an inimitable "give it the 'welly'" performance!


A well-attended A.G.M. of Drumreilly G.A.A. Club dealt with a large volume of business in Drumreilly Community Centre on last Saturday evening. The following Officers were elected for 2011: President: Fr. Denis Murray P.P.; Vice-Presidents: Sen Maxwell, Pat Conefrey, Sen Sutherland, Michael Donohoe, Tommy Connolly, Michael Joe Smith, Pat Joe Donohoe and Paddy Connolly; Chairman: Ollie Maguire; Vice-Chairman: (to be decided); Secretary: Michael McGirl; Assistant Secretary: Mary Prior; Treasurer: Tommy Connolly; Assistant Treasurers: Tommy McCartin and Leo Mitchell; P.R.O.: Ruth Taylor; Insurance Officer: Michael McGirl; Coaching Officer: (to be decided); Registrar: Toms Fee; Oifigeach na Gaeilge: (to be decided);Youth Officer: John McKeon; I.T. Officer: Ruth Taylor; Integration Officer: Elaine Lavin; Delegates to County Board: Toms Fee, Sen Maxwell, Niall Gallogly and Ollie Maguire; Delegates to Coiste na ng; Toms Mimna and Mary Prior; Development Officer: Sen Maxwell; Players' Rep: James Holahan; Scr Coordinators: Karl McCartin, Des Donegan, Pdraig Gaffney and Dermot McCartin; Alcohol and Substance Abuse Officer: Ruth Taylor; Child Protection Officer: Pdraig Gaffney; Executive Committee: Chairman: Ollie Maguire; Vice- Chairman (to be decided); Secretary: Michael McGirl; Treasurer: Tommy Connolly; P.R.O.: Ruth Taylor; Registrar: Toms Fee; Oifigeach na Gaeilge: (to be decided);Players' Rep.: Leo Mitchell, Tommy McCartin, Sen Maxwell, Mary Prior, Graeme Taylor and Ciaran Holahan Sr.


The following were among the winners on last Friday at Bingo in Drumreilly Community Centre: Kerri Hyland, Corrawallen, Mary O Rourke, Corlough, Debbie Keaney, Aughacashel, Anna Rose Mitchell, Augharan, Berni Smith, Drumury, Peggy McGovern, Ballinamore, Manus Connolly,

Ardunsaghan, Sinad McGovern, Ardra, Denise Dowling, Longford, Pauline Darcy Aughawillan, Lily Harvey, Ballinamore, Bridget Smith, Mahana, Nan Connolly, Ardunsaghan, Kathleen Canning, Bohey, Marian McCartin, Keelrin, Mary McBrien, Aughalough, Micheal Donohoe, Drumcoura, Mickey Prior, Lisacarn, Eileen McGovern, Ardra, Bridie Smith, N.Y and Mahana, Margaret Galligan, Killeshandra, Molly Prior, Lisacarn, Betty Taylor, Clonboyher, Margaret Flanagan, Ballinamore, Anne Honeyman Tullyoscar, Michael Flanagan, Drumarigna, Vincent Grimes, Drumconlevan, and Tommy Cassidy, Drumgowna. Bingo will continue on next Friday at 8.30 p.m.


The annual Christmas Day Icebreakers swim in support of the National Council of the Blind and the Irish Guide Dogs Association took place on Sunday January 2nd. Seven intrepid swimmers from this community were among the twenty participants in the fundraiser. They were Anne, Declan and Noel Maxwell and Jason Kellett, Carrickmakeegan, John and Raymond Fee, Mullaghboy, and former Gortahose resident Jim Holahan, Sallyfield.


The Drumreilly senior players who were winners in the Shield final against Dromahaire were presented with their medals in Drumcoura Lake Resort on Tuesday December 28th. In his address Fear a' T Pdraig Gaffney, in addition to congratulating the players, thanked the Club sponsors, the Lotto supporters, the sellers and teams of helpers. The presentations were made by former Club player Packie Smith, who was on vacation from New York with his wife and family. The following were recipients of medals: James Holahan, Mick McGirl, Brian Mitchell, Kevin Holahan, Graeme Taylor, Mark Fee, Paddy O Connor, Christopher Mimna, Ollie Maguire, John Fee, Sen Fee, Francis Holahan, Nigel Maguire, Cormac Maguire, Damon Maguire, Anthony Holahan, Ronan McCartin, Adrian McGirl, Gabriel Mitchell, Kieran Mitchell, Brian Fee, Niall Gallogly, Dermot Holahan, Ray Fee, Ciaran Holahan, Sen Mitchell, Seamus Prior, Michael Holahan, Matthew Fee and Warren Maguire. Presentations were also made to Team Manager Hugh Joseph Maguire and mentors Noel McGirl and Toms Fee. In a special Draw for the annual Lotto subscribers, hampers were won by Dessie Maguire, Corrawallen and Patricia Corby, Ballinamore.


Heartiest congratulations to Michael and Fiona McGirl, Drumdiffer on the birth of their baby girl, also to grandparents, Peter McGirl, Drumdiffer and Pat and Brd McCauley, Killaphort.


The following members of the Irish Red Cross, Drumreilly branch, have been trained in the use of defibrillators: Tomas Fee (087 9064818); Ciaran Holahan(087 9804400); Elaine Lavin (087 935 6748); Gile Mac Lochlainn (086 303 8202); Maureen Maguire (087 691 6814); Susan Maguire (086 168 6444); Mary McGirl-Prior (086 302 0111); Patricia McCartin (086 316 3284); Marese Magee (086 307 0358); Catherine McNiff (087 805 0607); Elizabeth Prior (087 635 8016); Brenda Quinn (086 408 3168); Graeme Taylor (087 962 354); Ruth Taylor (086 075 0431).


The weekly meeting will be held on this Wednesday January 12t. at 8.30 p.m. The setting of a date for the Annual General Meeting and preparatory work for same will be one of the items on the agenda. All members are asked to make a special effort to attend.


A Cookery demonstration by Mr. Frank Moynihan was conducted in Drumreilly Community Centre on Wednesday December 8th. The profits from the fundraiser, a sum of 1600 euro has been forwarded to the Children's Medical and Research Fund, Our Lady's Hospital, Crumlin. The coordinators Noel and Christina Connolly, Crickeen wish to thank all who contributed to the wonderful work being done for sick children.