18 Aug 2022

Disappointment for Longford Fianna Fáil councillor Mick Cahill in Seanad election bid

Disappointment for Longford Fianna Fáil councillor Mick Cahill in Seanad election bid

Deputy Joe Flaherty, Cllr Mick Cahill and Deputy Robert Troy at the recent general election count in Athlone IT

Longford Fianna Fáil Cllr Mick Cahill's bid for election to join his fellow county man, Fine Gael's Senator Micheál Carrigy, in the Seanad has ended in disappointment.

Following the tenth count for the Administrative Panel, Cllr Cahill was on 57,202 votes and eliminated from the race. 

There were 19 candidates vying for the seven seats on offer and after the first count, Mark Daly, on 167,000 votes, was deemed elected. The quota stood at 141,751. 

Colehill-based Cllr Cahill, a former Cathaoirleach of Longford County Council, was in 11th position after Count 1 on 41,000 votes, leaving him with too much ground to make up on his rivals. 

The transfer of Cllr Cahill's votes have helped Diarmuid Wilson become the second candidate elected for the Administrative Panel. 

The count is ongoing. 

Also read: Longford has a new Senator as Fine Gael’s Micheál Carrigy secures emphatic Seanad success

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.