Mighty St Mel’s Longford win the North Leinster Second Year ‘A’ title

Top Oil North Leinster Post-Primary Schools Second Year ‘A’ Football Final

Leinster schools gaa

The victorious St Mel’s College Second Year football squad pictured following the North Leinster ‘A’ final success at Glennon Brothers Pearse Park

St Mel’s College produced a terrific performance to score a landslide win over St Pat’s of Navan in the North Leinster Second Year ‘A’ Football Final (formerly the U-14 Championship) at Glennon Brothers Pearse Park on Tuesday last. 

St Mel’s College . . . 7-18    St Pat’s Navan . . . . 2-8 

The most emphatic margin of 25 points separated the sides in the end as mighty St Mel’s cruised to a very easy success after leading by 3-7 to 2-5 at the break.

Killoe sharpshooter Paddy Moran scored 3-3 for rampant St Mel's who march on to meet the Dublin champions in the Leinster semi-final. 

ST MEL’S COLLEGE: Stephen Oates (Grattans); Kevin Baskett (Clonguish), Eamonn Igoe (Killoe), Ross Shields (Clonguish); Jack Horgan (St Barry’s, Tarmonbarry), Conor Flynn (Clonguish), Jack Fitzpatrick (Killoe); Jack Belton (Mostrim, 0-1), Andrew Flynn (Clonguish, 0-7); Shane Donohoe (Killoe), Harry Mulvihill (Grattans, 2-4), Terry Reynolds (Killoe,0-1);  Conor Murray (Longford Slashers), Paddy Moran (Killoe, 3-3), Michael Flynn (Clonguish, 2-2). 

 Subs used:- Beau O’Connor (Longford Slashers) for T Reynolds; Ronan Kelly (Longford Slashers) for Kevin Baskett; Daniel Carey (Clonguish) for J Fitzpatrick; Alex Nugent for C  Murray. 

To continue reading this article, please register and log in.

Registration is free and you can also sign up to our newsletter to keep up to date with your latest local news!


Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.