Albert Cooney and Brid McGoldrick to contest Longford GAA Chairperson election

Annual Convention in the Arms Hotel on Thursday 12 December

longford gaa convention

Brid McGoldrick (Killoe Emmet Og) and Albert Cooney (Rathcline), the candidates in the election for the next Longford GAA Chairperson

Albert Cooney (Rathcline) and Brid McGoldrick (Killoe Emmet Og) will battle it out in the contest to elect the next Longford GAA Chairperson, the highlight of the annual Convention in the Arms Hotel on Thursday 12 December.

Outgoing Treasurer Cooney and outgoing Vice-Chairperson McGoldrick are declared as the candidates for the top position vacated by Eamon Reilly after serving three years in the ‘hot seat’.

Derek Fahy (Ballymore) was also nominated for Chairperson but he has decided not to run and will concentrate instead in his bid to be re-elected as one of the Longford representatives on the Leinster Council. 

To continue reading this archived article for FREE,
please just kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.