Longford Senior League: Mullinalaghta gradually assert superiority over Rathcline

Specsavers All County Football League Division 1 - Round 4

Padraic O'Brien


Padraic O'Brien



all county football league division 1

Oisin O'Sullivan on the ball for Rathcline ahead of Mullinalaghta opponent David McGivney. Action from the Division 1 football league game at The Laurels on Saturday evening. Picture: Declan Gilmore

Trailing by a point at the break (1-3 to 0-5) after playing against the wind, Mullinalaghta turned on the power in the second half to score a comfortable victory over last year’s Intermediate champions Rathcline at The Laurels on Saturday evening.

Mullinalaghta St Columba’s . . . 0-15      Rathcline . . . 1-5

With James Hanley getting the goal with just six minutes gone in the Division 1 league clash, Rathcline looked sharp in the first half in making a big impact but it was a different story on the changeover as wind assisted Mullinalaghta dominated the remainder on the match.

The introduction of James McGivney at the start of the second half proved to be a significant factor as St Columba’s gradually got on top in pulling away to win by the emphatic margin of seven points in the finish.  

MULLINALAGHTA ST COLUMBA’S: Patrick Rogers; Luke Meehan, Patrick Fox, Simon Cadam; Francis Mulligan, Shane Mulligan (0-3), Donal McElligott (0-1); David McGivney (0-6, five frees), John Keegan; Brendan Fox, Gary Rogers, Aidan McElligott (0-2); Rian Brady (0-2, one free), Cian McElligott, Michael Cunningham.

Subs:- James McGivney for Cian McElligott (half-time); Conor McElligott (0-1) for B Fox (44 mins); David Donohoe for Conor McElligott (black card, 49 mins); Paul Leonard for R Brady (60 mins).

RATHCLINE: David Mulvihill; Kevin Sorohan, James Carroll, Niall Keane; Kevin Chapman, David Rooney, Kian Gilmore; Derek Casserly, Shane Casserly; Oisin O’Sullivan, Iarla O’Sullivan (0-1), Oran Kenny (0-1); Aaron Madden (0-1, free), Liam Connerton (0-2, one free), James Hanley (1-0).

Subs:- Dylan Glancy for O O’Sullivan (58 mins); Cronan Flood and Garth Reilly for J Hanley and A Madden (60 mins).

Referee: Gerard Egan (St Mary’s Granard).