Longford ladies score emphatic win over Wicklow to reach league semi-final

Lidl Ladies Football National League Division 3 - Round 7

Longford ladies score emphatic win over Wicklow to reach league semi-final

Anna McDonnell pictured in action for Longford against Wicklow in the Lidl Ladies Football National League Division 3 game. Picture: Syl Healy

What a difference a year makes. Last year Longford Ladies were fighting a relegation battle in the National League and avoided a final game showdown with Leitrim after the Connacht County conceded the fixture in dropping down to Division 4.

Longford . . . 1-20     Wicklow . . . 1-7

Fast forward a year and a fantastic performance from Longford in beating Wicklow at Glennon Brothers Pearse Park on Sunday saw them clinch a spot in the Division 3 semi-finals.

Longford required a win against  Wicklow - who themselves were looking for a place in the last four - and Sligo needed to beat Kildare. Both results materialised and Enda Sheridan’s side now face a semi-final clash against table toppers Meath.

The previous occasion Longford and Wicklow met was in last year’s Leinster championship with the Garden County winning by 18 points but it was a completely different story on Sunday with Longford worthy winners by the emphatic margin of 13 points.

LONGFORD: Emer Esler; Rachel O’Farrell, Leanne Keegan, Mairead Moore; Orla Nevin, Eimear O’Brien, Clare Farrell; Jacinta Brady, Mairead Reynolds; Emer Heaney (0-4), Michelle Farrell (0-1), Ciara Healy (0-3); Anna McDonnell (0-2), Aisling Greene (0-3), Aoife Darcy (0-7, three frees).

Subs:-  Niamh Darcy for R O’Farrell (half-time); Laura Gallagher for L Keegan (injured, 40 mins); Kara Shannon (1-0) for A McDonnell (46 mins); Aisling McCormack for C Farrell (50 mins); Sarah Shannon for C Healy and Una Clarke for E Heaney (56 mins).

WICKLOW: Megan Dunne; Sarah Jane Winders, Sarah Hogan, Aoife Gillen; Lorna Fusciardi, Jessica Nolan Byrne, Emily Mulhall; Aoife Gorman (0-1), Sarah Delahunt; Niamh McGettigan (1-0), Jackie Kinch (0-1), Sarah Miley; Marie Kealy (0-2), Clodagh Fox (0-1), Laura Hogan (0-2).

Subs used:- Anna McGrath, Georgina Canavan, Erin Horan, Tara Costello, Evelyn Dean.

Referee: Mel Kenny (Mayo).

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.