21 Jan 2022

Longford hurlers take Fermanagh in winning start to league campaign

Allianz National Hurling League Division 3B - Round 2

Longford senior hurlers hoping for win away to Fermanagh

Longford senior hurling manager Derek Frehill.

After this fixture being called off the previous weekend due to weather conditions and having a bye in the opening round, Longford hurlers finally got their Division 3B campaign underway on Sunday when they travelled to Enniskillen to take on Fermanagh.

Longford . . . 1-16    Fermanagh . . . 2-7

Fermanagh’s two goals were rather fortuitous with them finding the net from goalmouth scrambles. They also ended the game with 13 players after one was dismissed for a foul on Bart Hanley and the other shown a red card for a foul on Karl Murray.

Longford had the wind in the first half and were ahead by five at the break (0-12 to 1-4) with Cathal Mullane their chief marksman.

It was Mullane who scored Longford’s goal in the second half with the chief marksman finding the net from a free about 50 metres out and he ended up with the impressive total of 1-8 to his credit. 

Longford put in an excellent team performance and they fully deserved this win. They have Leitrim at home on Sunday next and they will be looking to build on this victory as they push for promotion back to Division 3A under the guidance of new manager Derek Frehill.

Scorers - Longford: C Mullane 1-8 (6f, '65), C Kavanagh 0-5, D Buckley, R Murray, E Naughton 0-1 each. Fermanagh: S Curran, J Tormey 1-0 each, R Bogue (1f), J Duffy (2f) 0-2 each, N Timoney, C McShea, F McBrien 0-1 each.

LONGFORD: Conor Gallagher; Paddy Corcoran, Bart Hanley, Cian McLoughlin; Paul Leonard, Karl Murray, Johnny Casey; David Buckley, Paul Barden; John Mulhern, Enda Naughton, Shane O’Brien; Cian Kavanagh, Cathal Mullane, Reuben Murray.

Subs:- Maitiu O'Donohoe for S O'Brien (48 mins); Daniel Connell for P Barden (51 mins); Michael Devlin for P Leonard (57 mins); Alan Sorohan for D Buckley (60 mins); Evan Tully for J Mulhern (66 mins).

FERMANAGH: M Curry; Ciaran Duffy, R Porteous, D Russell; C Rafferty, T Cleary, F McBrien; C McShea, R Bogue; J Duffy, N Timoney, S Curran; B McPhillips, JP McGarry, Caolan Duffy.

Subs:- D McGarry for B McPhillips (half-time); O O'Connor for C Rafferty (61 mins); A McShea for Caolan Duffy (62 mins); J Tormey for C McShea (65 mins).

Referee: D Connors (Donegal). 

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.