St Mel’s College Longford win North Leinster U-14 ‘A’ football title

Top Oil North Leinster Schools Juvenile (U-14) ‘A’ Football Championship Final

leinster schools U-14 'A' championship

Killoe's Gavin Farrelly who broke from defence to score two points in quick succession for St Mel's in the second half against St Mary's Edenderry. Photo: Gerry Rowley

Trailing by four points at the break after squandering several scoring chances in the first half, the talented St Mel’s U-14 footballers produced a superb display on the changeover to beat St Mary’s Edenderry in the North Leinster Juvenile ‘A’ Championship Final at Glennon Brothers Pearse Park on Wednesday.

St Mel’s College . . . 3-13      St Mary’s Edenderry . . . 3-3

St Mel’s came storming back on the changeover to clock up a total of 3-5 with Patrick Moran (32nd minute), Matthew Flynn (49th minute) and Colm Coyle (58th minute) getting the goals as the shattered Offaly opponents failed to register another score after leading by 3-3 to 0-8 at half-time.

Coached by Mostrim clubman Ciaran Garvey, this was a terrific overall team effort by the Longford college who now advance to meet Wexford school Good Counsel, New Ross in the Leinster U-14 ‘A’ title decider next week.  

ST MEL’S COLLEGE: Zac McKeon (Killoe); Eamon Igoe (Killoe), Conor Smith (Clonguish), Gavin Farrelly (Killoe, 0-2); James Connell (Mostrim), Matthew Carey (Clonguish), David Moorhead (Killoe); Jack Belton (Mostrim), Ali Iqbal (Mostrim); Andrew Flynn (Clonguish), Matthew Flynn (Clonguish, 1-2, one point from free), Ronan Courtney (Mostrim); Patrick Moran (Killoe, 1-0), Jonathan Burke (Clonguish, 0-1), Colm Coyle (Killoe, 1-8, five points from frees).

Sub used:- Andy Devine (Mostrim) for J Burke (53 mins).

ST MARY’S EDENDERRY: Eoin Sheehan; Conor Bannon, Aaron Murphy, Dylan Byrne; Ian Coogan, Ryan Rainey, Conor Ennis; Stephen Cox, Cian Murphy; Cillian Lowry (0-1), Mark McCarthy (0-1, free), Eoin Smith; Paidi Farrell (1-0), Fionn O’Grady (1-0), Luke O’Connor (1-1).

Subs used:- Oisin Higgins for I Coogan (12 mins); Mason Farrell for M McCarthy (injured, 41 mins); Rory Allen for E Smith (51 mins); M McCarthy for S Cox (54 mins).

Referee: Kenneth Gunning (Mullingar).

To continue reading this archived article for FREE,
please just kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.