28 Jan 2022

Longford ladies have to settle for second best against stronger Wexford side

Lidl Ladies Football National League Division 3 - Round 1

lidl ladies football national league division 3

Michelle Noonan pictured in action for the Longford ladies against Wexford in Division 3 of the National League at McGann Park, Kenagh on Sunday. Photo: Syl Healy

Longford suffered a defeat against Anthony Masterson’s Wexford in the opening game of Division 3 of the Lidl Ladies Football National League played at a windy McGann Park, Kenagh on Sunday.

Longford . . . 2-5      Wexford . . . 3-10

It was a tough task for a new look  Longford side who were missing a few experienced players from last year’s team that gained promotion in winning the Division 4 league title.

Under the guidance of former county star Paddy Dowd, Longford produced a decent performance against a strong Wexford side. There was just three points between them at the break: Wexford 1-7 to Longford’s 1-4.

Wexford got two goals in the final 10 minutes with Maria Byrne raising the green flag twice to kill off the spirited Longford challenge.

Longford face a daunting trip to Meath on Saturday next to take on the current Leinster Intermediate Champions who opened their league campaign with a win over Down on Sunday. .

LONGFORD: Monica Bannon (Carrickedmond); Maria Kelleher (Clonguish), Leanne Keegan (Mostrim), Ailish Noonan (St. Helen’s); Caitriona Moore (Clonguish), Niamh Darcy (Clonguish), Clare Farrell (Longford Slashers); Mairead Reynolds (Dromard), Michelle Noonan (Carrickedmond); Mairead Moore (Clonguish), Emer O'Brien (Longford Slashers), Cait Murphy (Dromard); Aisling Greene (Clonguish), Aoife Darcy (Clonguish), Lauren Burke (Mullinalaghta).

Subs:- Megan Creegan (Ballymore), Aisling Cosgrove (Longford Slashers), Cliona Allen (Clonguish), Emer Heaney (Ballymore), Geraldine O'Reilly (Colmcille), Ikeya Collins (Mostrim), Lisa Mooney (Mullinalaghta), Maeve Reilly (Colmcille), Niamh Feeney (Carrickedmond), Sarah Reynolds (Dromard), Sarah Shannon (Carrickedmond).

WEXFORD: Sinead Whelan; Georgina Hearne, Niamh Mernagh, Marguerite Doyle; Ciara Donnelly, Bernie Breen, Roisin Murphy; Kellie Kearney, Niamh Moore; Ellen O'Brien, Catriona Murray Niamh Butler; Aoife Sheil, Maira Byrne, Fiona Bennett

Subs:- Mary Rose Kelly, Aoife Drennan, Ciara Ryan, Amy Wilson, Cailin Fitzpatrick, Fiona Rochford, Chantelle Martin, Chloe Foxe, Lauren Cousins, Aisling Murphy, Cathy O'Brien, Ann Byrne, Shauna Murphy, Sarah Harding Kenny.

Referee: Declan Carolan (Down).

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.