19 Aug 2022

Ballymahon Vocational School defeat Dunboyne in Leinster ‘B’ Championship

Ballymahon Vocational School defeat Dunboyne in Leinster ‘B’ Championship

Ballymahon Vocational School senior football squad.

Ballymahon Vocational School historically ended their first game in Colleges Senior ‘B’ football with a win against St Peter's Dunboyne in Keenan Park, Ardagh on Friday last week.


North Leinster Post-Primary Schools Senior ‘B’ Football Championship First Round

Ballymahon VS . . . . 2-10    St Peter’s Dunboyne (Meath) . . . . 1-7

The south Longford school decided to go up a level after contesting the North Leinster 'C' Final last year and have began life in Colleges football in brilliant fashion.  

In opposition was 1,200 student school St Peter's Dunboyne, who lacked the composure in front of goal throughout the game, hitting 14 wides in this otherwise competitive game.

The Meath outfit boasted a physical side who made things difficult for Ballymahon but did not click up front as they hit seven wides consecutively before accounting for their first score after 17 minutes with a point from Cadhla McKenna.

In the meantime, John Tumelty and Eoghan McCormack had registered points for Ballymahon VS.

The Ballymahon forwards were presented with very little in the first half as Dunboyne dominated possession but they were clinical with the chances they got. Eoghan McCormack and Aidan McGuire kicked two frees in a row before Conor Flood got the first goal of the game leaving the score at 1-4 to 0-1 after 20 minutes.

Jordan Morris and Nathan Dunne pointed at the closing of the first half for Dunboyne, who were managed by Kildare player Eoin Doyle, but their total of four first half points was overwhelmed by the disappointing tally of 9 wides.

Unlike the first half, Dunboyne got off the mark straight away with an Eoin Martin free but Ballymahon VS full-forward Eoghan McCormack stole the spotlight for the next ten minutes clocking up 1-2, including an absolute rocket of a goal. It was 2-7 to 0-5 in favour of Ballymahon VS with 20 minutes remaining.

The spark in the game left after that as it was finished as a contest. Cadhla McKenna and Aidan McGuire traded frees as Dunboyne pushed for a goal and got a consolation 3-pointer from wing back Sean Ryan's effort after 56 minutes.

Ballymahon VS advanced to the next round with a comfortable six point win but they were pushed hard at times and only for Dunboyne's tally of 9 wides in the first half it could have been a different story.

Ballymahon VS now play Gallen CS, the defending Leinster and All-Ireland ‘B’ champions. The Ferbane school will be extremely tough opposition as they are one of the favourites to retain the Paddy Drummond Cup but Ballymahon VS could spring a shock on January 11th.

BALLYMAHON VOCATIONAL SCHOOL: Patrick Murray (Carrickedmond); Peter Dempsey (Carrickedmond), Michael Cahill (Carrickedmond), Adam Doherty (Legan); Patrick Hernandez (Clonguish), Shane Farrell (Kenagh), Justin McCormack (Carrickedmond); John Tumelty (Tang, 0-1), Conor Dillon (Milltown); Kyle Kenny (Carrickedmond), Aidan McGuire (Carrickedmond, 0-3, 3f), Thomas McGann (Kenagh, 0-1); Conor Flood (Cashel, 1-0), Eoghán McCormack (Carrickedmond, 1-5, 2f), Shane Coughlan (Tang).

Subs:- Thomas Lennon (Tang) for K Kenny (50 mins); Paddy Hanley (Ardagh) for M Cahill (50 minutes); Keelan Galvin (Tang) for P Hanley (black card, 60 minutes).

ST PETER’S DUNBOYNE: Keith Hennessy; Dylan Garrigan, Eimhin Power, Sean Bannon; Sean Ryan (1-0), Adam Muldoon, Conal Courtney; Cadhla McKenna (0-3, 3f), Fergal Waters; Eoin Martin (0-1, f), Shane Walsh (0-1), Patrick Matthews; Aaron Lynch, Jordan Morris (0-1), Aaron Lynch (0-1).

Subs:- Joe Magee for P Matthews (20 mins); Ruairi Crawford for A Lynch (50 mins); Liam Byrne for E Martin (black card, 60 mins).

Referee: Emmet Masterson (Dromard).

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.