22 Jan 2022

Shane Doyle starts for Longford against Offaly

Goalkeepers Paddy Collum, Longford, and Alan Mulhall, Offaly, who will be in action in the Leinster Senior Football Championship first round game at O'Connor Park, Tullamore on Saturday evening.
Leinster Senior Football Championship First Round

Leinster Senior Football Championship First Round

There is one change on the Longford team to face Offaly in the Leinster Senior Football Championship first round clash at O’Connor Park, Tullamore on Saturday evening, throw-in 7pm.

A serious shoulder injury sustained in the recent challenge against Louth in Lanesboro has ruled out Paul McKeon (Colmcille) and he is replaced in the half-forward-line by Shane Doyle (Kenagh).

Therefore, 14 of the players that started in the recent National League Division 4 final defeat against Offaly (emphatic winners by 13 points at Croke Park) will take their places on the team for the Leinster showdown with goalkeeper Paddy Collum and right-corner-forward Ross McNerney making their senior championship debuts.

Offaly manager Pat Flanagan has named the same side that lined-out in the league final for the championship match in Tullamore with the eventual winners advancing to meet Dublin in the quarter-final at Croke Park on Sunday May 31st.


Paddy Collum (Fr Manning Gaels); Dermot Brady (Longford Slashers), Barry O’Farrell (Carrickedmond), Peter Foy (Longford Slashers); Colm P Smyth (Abbeylara), Diarmuid Masterson (Dromard), Enda Williams (Clonguish); Barry Gilleran (Longford Slashers), Kevin Diffley (Ballymahon); Ronan McEntire (Dromard), Michael Quinn (Killoe Emmet Og), Shane Doyle (Kenagh); Ross McNerney (Dromard), Brian Kavanagh (Kilmacud Crokes), Francis McGee (Dromard).


Alan Mulhall; Brian Darby, Paul McConway, Daithi Brady; Niall Darby, Johnny Maloney, Joseph O’Connor; Graham Guilfoyle, Niall Smith; Eoin Carroll, Niall McNamee, Anton Sullivan; Bernard Allen, Nigel Dunne, William Mulhall.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.