24 Sept 2022

Mighty Longford minors score a great win over Meath

Electric Ireland Leinster Minor (U-17) Football Championship Group 2 - Round 1

longford gaa

Paddy Moran on the attack for Longford against Meath. Action from the Leinster Minor (U-17) Football Championship Group 2 Round 1 game at Glennon Brothers Pearse Park on Saturday Photo: Syl Healy

Showing remarkable resilience throughout the entertaining game, the Longford U-17 footballers produced a mighty performance to score a great win over the reigning All-Ireland minor champions Meath at Glennon Brothers Pearse Park on Saturday.

Longford . . . 1-11   Meath . . . 1-10

It was a tremendous start to the 2022 Leinster Minor Football Championship for Gareth Johnston’s well drilled side and the home county got a big boost in first half stoppage time with a goal from a penalty converted by Paddy Moran after he was fouled in the square. 

That left Longford leading by 1-7 to 0-5 at the break and despite playing against the wind in the second half the advantage was extended to a commanding six points when Matthew Carey fired over a free with six minutes gone on the changeover. 

Meath were looking in trouble but a well struck goal from Cian Commons soon after brought the visitors right back into contention and the pressure was piling on Longford when they were reduced to 14 players following a black card for midfielder Jack Belton in the 48th minute. 

The gap was closed to just a solitary point at that stage and while Meath hit the front (1-10 to 1-9) with time running out, Longford battled back with a brace of scores through Clonguish duo Michael Flynn and Matthew Carey (stoppage time free) to clinch a well deserved win. 

Next up for Longford in the group phase of the provincial championship is the Round 2 clash against Kildare (very easy 3-12 to 0-5 winners over Offaly in Round 1) in Newbridge on Saturday April 2 in the quest to qualify for the knockout stage. 

LONGFORD: Caolan Hussey (Mostrim); Brian Mulvey (Carrickedmond), Eamon Igoe (Killoe), Conor Flynn (Clonguish); Harry Kiernan (Granard, 0-1), Ruairi O’Toole (Dromard), Andrew Flynn (Clonguish, 0-1); Jack Belton (Mostrim), Ross Shields (Clonguish); Michael Murphy (Sean Connolly’s), Matthew Carey (Clonguish, 0-6, two frees, one mark), Jonathan Burke (Clonguish); Harry Mulvihill (Young Grattans), Paddy Moran (Killoe, 1-1, goal from penalty), Michael Flynn (Clonguish, 0-2).

Sub:- Matthew McCormack (Carrickedmond) for H Mulvihill (50 mins).

Blood sub:- Josh Kelly (Kenagh) for P Moran (stoppage time).  

MEATH: Oisin Black; Oisin Daly, Eoghan Drysdale, Eoghan Ryan; Aidan Mackey, Finn White, Robbie Finnegan (0-1, ‘45); Evan O’Kane, Cian Commons (1-1); Tadhg Martin, Michael McIvor (0-3), Conor McWeeney (0-1); Rian Stafford (0-2, one free), Neil McGinley (0-2, one free), Zach Thornton.

Subs:- Cathal Melody for A Mackey (25 mins); Matthew Scanlon for E O’Kane (half-time); Declan Reilly for Z Thornton (half-time); Oisin Brennan for O Daly (43 mins). 

Referee: Eamon O’Connor (Offaly).

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.