24 Sept 2022

Longford hurlers register vital victory over Lancashire

Allianz National Hurling League Division 3B - Round 3

longford gaa

Longford senior hurling manager Adrian Moran Photo: Syl Healy

After losing their opening fixture at home to Fermanagh, the Longford senior hurlers registered a vital victory over the Exiles Lancashire in the National League Division 3B clash at the GAA Centre of Excellence in Abbotstown on Sunday.

Longford . . . 1-26   Lancashire . . . 3-11

Playing with the aid of a strong wind in the first half, Longford built up an eleven-point lead by the half-hour mark, 0-14 to 0-3, with Joe O’Brien and Paddy Lynam the chief scorers with six points and four points respectively.

Indeed, Longford should have been much further ahead as they missed three good goal chances in the first half with Lancashire keeper Darren Cusack making two excellent saves from Micheal Mulcahy and O’Brien while Cathal Mullane fired a low diagonal shot just wide of the far post.

Longford held a commanding 0-17 to 1-4 lead at the break and while Lancashire (missing a few regulars) tried hard to close the gap in the second half, the midlanders kept the scoreboard ticking over in adding another 1-9 to their emphatic tally.

Lancashire were reduced to 14 players in the 56th minute when Kevin Fennelly was sent-off after receiving a second yellow card, at which stage Longford were leading by 1-20 to 2-7. 

Emmet Corrigan scored the goal in a first competitive win this season under the guidance of the new manager Adrian Moran and Longford can now look forward to a clash against neighbouring rivals Leitrim in the next round at Glennon Brothers Pearse Park on Sunday next. 

Scorers- Longford: J O’Brien 0-11 (5 f, 1 ’65); P Lynam 0-5; E Corrigan 1-2; C Mullane 0-3; C Kavanagh 0-2; K Murray 0-1; R Murray 0-1; J Mulhern 0-1. 

Scorers- Lancashire: S Holland 1-2; D Power 0-6 (4f); T Lee 1-1; J Cleere 1-0; M Morgan 0-1; J McAllister 0-1. 

LONGFORD:  C Gallagher; N Moran, E Naughton, J Casey; A Quinn, D Buckley, K Murray; J Mulhern, P Lynam; E Corrigan, J O’Brien, C Kavanagh; R Murray, C Mullane, M Mulcahy.

Subs:- K Cox for J Casey (half-time); A Sheridan for N Moran (69 mins); E Tully for C Mullane (70 mins).

LANCASHIRE:  D Cusack;  P Shine, B Slattery, S Wallace; C McDonald, T Lee, J McCourt; S Duncan, D Power; K Fennelly, M Morgan, E Kelly; J McAllister, J Cleere, S Holland.

Subs:- J Bayley for J McCourt (half-time); R Ivors for S Wallace (52 mins); D Fitzell for C McDonald (60 mins); C McDonald for E Kelly (66 mins, blood sub).

Referee: Liam Gordon (Galway). 


To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.