27 May 2022

Election count is finally over in Longford as Cahill, Murray, O'Toole and Farrell claim final four Ballymahon seats

The count is finally over as Cahill, Murray, O'Toole and Farrell claim the remaining four Ballymahon seats

Mick Cahill and his daughters, Una and Siona, with Pat O'Toole and his son Ronan

It's been a gruelling few days here in Edgeworthstown as the Longford count dominated the lives of many candidates and their families, not to mention election enthusiasts and, of course, the media.

And the past four days haven't been without their drama, with Ballymahon MD being the final count in the entire county, and a recount adding on to an already long count.

But all of that has come to an end now with the final count eliminating Brigid Duffy (FF). With Mick Cahill reaching the quota on the eighth count and nabbing the third seat in the south Longford area, there were only three left.

And, after the redistribution of Brigid Duffy's votes, those remaining seats automatically went to Pat O'Toole, Colm Murray and Gerard Farrell.

So all of that drama to re-elect the stellar council that has been sitting in Ballymahon for the past five years.

Ballymahon MD County 8

Cahill Mick (FF) +86 1024

Duffy Brigid (FF) +47 640

Farrell Gerard (FG) +152 867

Murray Colm (FG) +69 927

O'Toole Pat (FF) +46 895

See tomorrow's Longford Leader for an in-depth analysis of the local elections.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.