09 Dec 2021

Longford Chamber laud St Patrick's Day participants

Longford Chamber laud St Patrick's Day participants

The Longford Chamber of Commerce & Industry would like to thank all of the parade entrants particularly the local national schools for their super efforts in this year’s Abbott St Patrick’s Day Parade.

Chamber CEO Lisa Brady said, “despite the horrible weather the parade was one of our best and that is down to the community involvement.”

She added, “There are a number of people we wish to thank for their voluntary time and assistance this year.

In particular, Orla Barry (Barry Express), Terry McHugh (Longford Hire Centre), Orlagh Reynolds (Longford Arms) and Anna Delaney (Longford Tourism), Eddie (Edit Print), Terri Doherty (Volunteer Centre) and all of the volunteer stewards that lined the parade route. 

“Brian Crossan (Crossan CableComm), Liam,Mary & Fiona Fenelon; Peter Dolan & Joe Flynn (Spirit Clothing), the Judges who will remain unnamed!, Shane Crossan, Miceal Nolan (Longford Vintage Club), Paddy Hanlon (Hanlon’s AppleGreen), Brendan Gilmore Security, Laura Shaw (Longford Garden Centre), the Gardai – Sgt Derek Duggan & Sgt Lionel Mullally, Brian McNeela & Pat Moran and all of the Municipal Council staff, Seamus Kiernan & Longford Civil Defence.”

Ms Brady concluded, “I hope we have not missed anyone and apologies if we have.”

See Page 44 for photos of presentation of Parade prizes. 

Parade category winners 

(sponsor listed in brackets)

Best Overall Entry: St Michael's NS (Chamber)

Most Colourful Entry: Gaelscoil (Ulster Bank)

Best Commercial Entry: Kiernan Structural Steel (Chamber)

Best Public Service: Civil Defense (Stenson's Chemist)

Best Non Commercial Entry: The Auld Fellas (Supermac's)

Best Club/Association: Peelo School of Dance (Bernie Crossan Perpetual Trophy sponsored by CableComm)

Youth Endeavour Award: St Joseph's NS (Longford Leader)

Best Entertainment Entry: School of Rock (Grafter Hair Co)

Best Community Entry: Streete Vintage (Longford Shopping Centre)

Best Window Display: O'Connor’s Florist (Conradh Na Gaeilge)

Best New Entry: St John's National School (Hair Square)

Best Environmental Winner: Tidy Towns (Mulleady's Waste Management)

Best School Entry: St Teresa's NS (Glennon Brothers)

Outstanding Service: Longford Macra (Hugh Shannon Memorial Cup)

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.