28 May 2022

Identity of 2019 Ganly’s Longford Sports Star Award winners revealed

Awards will be presented at gala presentation dinner on Friday, November 29, in Longford Arms Hotel

The 2019 Ganly’s Longford Sports Star Awards will be presented at a gala presentation dinner on Friday, November 29, in The Longford Arms Hotel.

This is Ganly’s third consecutive year to sponsor the awards which are organised in association with Longford Sports Partnership and the Longford Leader.

Last week it was revealed that Patsy Kenny will be the Hall of Fame award recipient for her dedicated service to Longford Community Games over a number of decades.

One of the driving forces behind Mosstown Riding Club, Ann Bloomer, has been chosen as the Club Volunteer of the Year.

The Sports Ability Award goes to swimmer and parkrun participant Stephen McCormack of the Longford Special Olympics Team and the Junior Sportsperson of the Year is talented high jumper and athlete Nelvin Appiah.

Mullinalaghta St Columba’s, the first Longford club to ever win the Leinster senior club football crown, have been chosen as the Team of The Year. 

There are also ten other award winners - (in alphabetical order) Ingus Dvinis, Darragh Greene,  Niamh Kiernan, Riane McGrath, Cian McPhillips, Paddy Moran, Ellen Murphy, Joe O’Brien, Barry Sheil and  Yemi Talabi. 

Each of the winners will be presented with a memento in recognition of their achievement and one of them will also be announced as the Overall 2019 Ganly’s Longford Sports Star of the Year.  

Just a reminder that the awards will be presented at a gala presentation dinner on Friday, November 29 at 8pm in The Longford Arms Hotel.

Tickets for the Ganly’s Longford Sport Star Awards, costing €35, are on sale and they can be purchased at reception in the Longford Leader office, telephone 043 33 45241.

2019 Ganly’s Longford Sports Star Awards

Hall of Fame
Patsy Kenny, Life President Longford Community Games 

Junior Sportsperson of the Year
Nelvin Appiah, Athletics High Jump 

Club Volunteer of the Year
Ann Bloomer, Mosstown Riding Club

Team of the Year
Mullinalaghta St Columba’s, AIB Leinster Club Football Champions 2018/2019 

Sports Ability Award
Stephen McCormack, Special Olympics & parkrun 

Award Winners 
(in alphabetical order)
Ingus Dvinis, Inline Roller Hockey 
Darragh Greene, Swimming 
Niamh Kiernan, Longford Athletic Club
Riane McGrath, Longford & Killoe Ladies Football
Cian McPhillips, Longford Athletic Club 
Paddy Moran, Longford Kennedy Cup & Killoe Celtic soccer 
Ellen Murphy, Rugby, Ireland Ladies International & Gloucester-Hartpury 
Joe O’Brien, GAA Hurling 
Barry Sheil, Longford Athletic Club
Yemi Talabi, Longford Athletic Club

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.