20 Aug 2022

Eamon Reilly to challenge Brendan Gilmore for Longford GAA County Board Chairman

Eamon Reilly to challenge Brendan Gilmore for Longford GAA County Board Chairman

Rathcline clubman Brendan Gilmore, who has completed four years as County Board Chairman, will be opposed at the annual Longford GAA convention which takes place on Thursday, December 15 in The Rustic Inn, Abbeyshrule.

With just twelve months of his five-year term left to complete, Brendan is facing a challenge from Eamon Reilly (St Munis Forgney) who has served as Vice-Chairperson  from 2014-2016 and is nominated to contest the top job as he was last year but decided to withdraw.  

However, on this occasion, in a signal of his intent, Eamon has already declared and indicated to the clubs that he is not seeking re-election as Vice-Chairperson and is running against Brendan Gilmore. 

Should the vote materialise it will generate plenty of excitement ahead of a convention that will witness change in at least five positions on the county board executive as a new Vice- Chairperson, Coaching Officer, PRO and two new Leinster Council representatives will be elected. 

 Bríd McGoldrick (Killoe Emmet Óg) and John Bannon (Legan Sarsfields) have been nominated for the post of Vice-Chairperson. 

 John has completed the maximum  five years as one of the two Leinster Council representatives and must now vacate the position. 

Tommy McLoughlin (Mostrim) is not seeking re-election officer as Coaching Officer and is running instead for Leinster Council representative. 

Cyril Connor (Kenagh), who, in 2015 completed his fifth year as Development Officer and in 2016 was Leinster Council representative, is nominated to fill the Coaching Officer vacancy, as is Dan McElligott (Mullinalaghta St Columba’s). Cyril has already indicated that he isn’t seeking re-election as Leinster Council representative.  

Caroline Ginty (Rathcline) has vacated the PRO position and there are five candidates nominated to succeed her - Michael Burke (Mostrim), Damien Edgeworth (St Brigid’s Killashee), John Duffy (Dromard), Deniese O’Flaherty (St Mary’s Granard) and Nicole Rowley (Killoe Emmet Og ). 

For the two vacant Leinster Council representative roles, there are five nominated contenders - Tommy McLoughlin, Anthony Dooner (St Brigid’s Killashee), Derek Fahy (Ballymore), Gerry Hagan (Killoe Emmet Og ) and Eugene Murtagh (Sean Connolly’s). 

 Treasurer Albert Cooney (Rathcline), Assistant Treasurer Eugene Quaine (Carrickedmond), Development Officer Colm Murray (Kenagh) and Central Council Delegate Micheál Carrigy (Sean Connolly’s) will be relected  unopposed.

Outgoing Irish Language and Culture officer Gerry Hagan, who served as PRO from 2010 to ‘15, could be facing opposition from Eamon Brennan (Young Grattans) and Kevin Kane (Dromard).


Chairperson: Brendan Gilmore (Rathcline) outgoing; Eamon Reilly (St Munis Forgney)

Vice-Chairperson: Eamon Reilly (St Munis Forgney) outgoing (not seeking re-election); Bríd McGoldrick (Killoe Emmet Óg); John Bannon (Legan Sarsfields)

Treasurer: Albert Cooney (Rathcline) outgoing

Assistant Treasurer: Eugene Quaine (Carrickedmond) outgoing

Development Officer: Colm Murray (Kenagh) outgoing

Coaching & Games Development Officer: Tommy McLoughlin (Mostrim) outgoing (not seeking re-election); Cyril Connor (Kenagh); Dan McElligott (Mullinalaghta St Columba’s)

PRO: Caroline Ginty (Rathcline) outgoing (not seeking re-election); Michael Burke (Mostrim); Damien Edgeworth (St Brigid’s Killashee); John Duffy (Dromard); Deniese O’Flaherty (St Mary’s Granard); Nicole Rowley (Killoe Emmet Óg)

Leinster Council representatives: John Bannon (Legan Sarsfields) & Cyril Connor (Kenagh, not seeking re-election) both outgoing; Tommy McLoughlin (Mostrim); Anthony Dooner (St Brigid’s Killashee); Derek Fahy (Ballymore); Gerry Hagan (Killoe Emmet Óg); Eugene Murtagh (Sean Connolly’s)  

Central Council Delegate: Micheál Carrigy (Sean Connolly’s) outgoing

Irish & Cultural Officer: Gerry Hagan (Killoe Emmet Óg) outgoing; Eamon Brennan (Young Grattans); Kevin Kane (Dromard)

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.