Longford Town relegated to the First Division

Padraig O'Brien


Padraig O'Brien

Longford Town relegated to the First Division

Dundalk's Daryl Horgan in action against Longford Town's Don Cowan. Photo by Frank McGrath

Longford Town . . . . 0    Dundalk . . . . 3

Longford Town were officially relegated to the First Division after getting hammered by Premier Division champions elect Dundalk at City Calling Stadium on Monday night.  

After Friday night’s defeat against Sligo Rovers, the Town were virtually relegated and the dreaded drop back down to the First Division was confirmed in the defeat by Dundalk who were in complete control.

The attendance of 495 that watched this game was made up of mostly Dundalk supporters as their side close in on another Premier Division title triumph. The many poor performances produced by Longford this season has tested even the most ardent supporters and numbers have been falling from the home support in recent months.

In 31 league games the Town have amassed just 13 points and have remarkably failed to win a  Premier Division fixture at City Calling Stadium this season so relegation was no surprise. Their remaining home match in the top flight is against Shamrock Rovers on Friday night week.

Dane Massey opened the scoring for Dundalk in the 14th minute when he latched onto a neat Alan Keane pass and he made no mistake with an unstoppable strike. And the visitors doubled their advantage three minutes from the break when Ronan Finn played the ball into striker David McMillan and he finished to the net for an excellent goal.

Things got worse for the Town in the 48th minute when Dundalk got their third goal. Conor Powell’s clearance deflected off Daryl Horgan and the ball ended up in the net;  summing up the terrible season the club has endured in finishing bottom of the table.

LONGFORD TOWN:  Ryan Coulter; Jamie Mulhall, Rhys Gorman, Pat Flynn, Conor Powell; Peter McGlynn, Kevin O’Connor, Mark Hughes, Kealan Dillon; David O’Sullivan, Don Cowan.

Subs:- Philip Gannon for Dillon (62 mins); Eddie Dsane for Cowan (70 mins); Gaius Makouta for  Hughes (85 mins).

DUNDALK:  Gabriel Sava; Alan Keane, Brian Gartland, Andy Boyle, Dane Massey; Chris Shields, Ronan Finn, John Mountney, Patrick McEleney, Daryl Horgan; David McMillan.

Subs:-  Darren Meenan for Mountney (injured, 21 mins); Robbie Benson for C Shields (56 mins);  Ciaran Kilduff for Horgan (71 mins).

Referee: Jim McKell (Tipperary).