16 Aug 2022

Longford Town no match for rampant Finn Harps

2021 SSE Airtricity League Premier Division - Final Round

airtricity league premier division

Action from the Finn Harps v Longford Town Premier Division league clash at a packed Finn Park in Ballybofey on Friday night

Finn Harps got the result they required to make absolutely certain of their place in the SSE Airtricity League Premier Division next season when they cruised to a most emphatic win over Longford Town in Ballybofey on Friday night.

Finn Harps . . . 5    Longford Town . . . 0

The Town, under the guidance of caretaker manager John Martin, were no match for the rampant Donegal side who led 2-0 at the break and scored three more goals in the second half to secure their top flight status in avoiding the relegation play-off.

While already relegated Longford had nothing but pride to play for, it was a very disappointing end to a torrid season with the midlanders failing to win any of their away fixtures on their brief return to the top flight. 

Goals from Will Seymore’s header, a Ryan Connolly cracker and a Karl O’Sullivan shot that took a huge deflection meant Harps were 3-0 up just before the 50th minute.

Tunde Owolabi’s fourth soon followed and Luke Rudden added his first goal for the club two minutes into injury time when Town keeper Lee Steacy couldn’t keep his shot out following a pass from O’Sullivan.

With Finn Harps winning with ease, it is second from bottom Waterford who are now facing First Division opponents UCD in the promotion/relegation play-off to determine who will claim the last Premier Division spot for the 2022 season.

Finn Harps: Gerard Doherty; Ethan Boyle, Dave Webster, Shane McEleney, Jordan Mustoe (Johnny Dunleavy, half-time); Karl O’Sullivan, Ryan Connolly, Mark Coyle, Will Seymore (Dan Hawkins, 83 mins); Barry McNamee (Mark Timlin, 77 mins); Tunde Owolabi (Luke Rudden 89 mins). 

Longford Town: Lee Steacy; Shane Elworthy (Mick McDonnell, half-time), Joe Manley, Aaron O’Driscoll, Paddy Kirk; Aaron Robinson, Aodh Dervin (Matthew O’Brien, 69 mins); Dean Williams (Aaron Dobbs, 69 mins), Darragh Nugent (Dean Zambra, 55 mins), Conor Davis (Aaron McNally, 55 mins); Rob Manley.

Referee: John McLoughlin.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.