Five Longford Town players selected on the First Division Team of the Year

Shels, Drogheda, Cabinteely and Bray also honoured in the 2019 selection

Airtricity League First Division

Goalkeeper Lee Steacy, one of five Longford Town players honoured on the PFAI First Division Team of the Year

Five Longford Town players have been selected on the 2019 Professional Footballers’ Association of Ireland First Division Team of the Year. 

Lee Steacy, Anthony Breslin, Conor Kenna, Shane Elworthy and Dean Byrne are all honoured. Longford Town finished third in the table, missing out on promotion to the Premier Division following the recent play-off defeat against Cabinteely. 

The First Division champions Shelbourne have two players on the team, Luke Byrne and Ryan Brennan, as have the runners-up Drogheda United with Sean Brennan and Chris Lyons the representatives from the Co Louth club who are currently in contention for promotion.

Drogheda face a second leg play-off  at United Park on Friday night against Cabinteely who have Rob Manley selected on the First Division Team of the Year which is completed by Bray’s Dylan McGlade, the former Longford Town player who features for the second successive year. 

PFAI First Division Team of the Year

Lee Steacy (Longford Town)

Anthony Breslin (Longford Town)

Luke Byrne (Shelbourne)

Conor Kenna (Longford Town)

Shane Elworthy (Longford Town)

Ryan Brennan (Shelbourne)

Sean Brennan (Drogheda United)

Dylan McGlade (Bray Wanderers)

Dean Byrne (Longford Town)

Chris Lyons (Drogheda United)

Rob Manley (Cabinteely)


To continue reading this archived article for FREE,
please just kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.