28 Jun 2022

Longford Town beat Bangor Celtic and are now at home to Cork City in the FAI Cup quarter-final

Irish Daily Mail FAI Cup

Longford Town v Bangor Celtic FAI Cup second round

Pictured at the Iveagh grounds on Friday night last is Longford Town manager Neale Fenn who is facing his former club Cork City in the FAI Cup quarter-final. Photo: Syl Healy

A stunning strike from substitute Don Cowan in the 71st minute sent Longford Town through to the FAI Cup quarter-finals but they were made work hard for their expected win over non-league side Bangor Celtic at the Iveagh grounds in Dublin on Friday night last. 

Bangor Celtic . . . 0    Longford Town . . . 1

After failing to put away the chances they created in the first half, the Town needed to change things around and brought on Cowan in the 66th minute. Five minutes later he burst through and fired past former Longford keeper Stephen Conlon for the matchwinning goal.

Bangor Celtic were very unlucky not to get an equaliser with Town keeper Jack Brady pulling off a fantastic save with his foot to deny Graham Zambra in the 81st minute.

In the aftermath of the win Longford Town manager Neale Fenn summed up the game perfectly. “I think we edged it in the first half; we had the better chances. We knew they were going to come out and put us under pressure with the long balls and stuff like that. We did alright and struggled at times to deal with that but we brought Don on to freshen things up, he scores a great goal and then we were kind of hanging on near the end.”

The draw for the FAI Cup quarter-finals was made on the Soccer Republic programme on RTE on Monday night and Longford Town will take on the holders Cork City in the last eight clash at City Calling Stadium, probably on Saturday 9 September, as Neale Fenn faces his former club. 

BANGOR CELTIC: Stephen Conlon; Stephen Phillips, Cian Fadden, Marc Keely, Bamba Ndiaye; Aaron Coleman, Laurence Dunne, Caleb Murray, Ronan Byrne; Graham Zambra, Michael Fox.

Subs:- Andrew Dunne for Ndiaye (48 mins); Luke Synott for Fox (74 mins); Michael O’Connor for Murray (79 mins).

LONGFORD TOWN: Jack Brady; Aidan Friel, Noel Haverty, Daniel O’Reilly, Tristan Noack-Hofmann; Karl Chambers, Dean Zambra, Sam Verdon, Alan Kehoe; Jake Kelly; David O’Sullivan.

Subs:- Don Cowan for Chambers (66 mins); Kealan Dillon for Kehoe (87 mins).

Referee: Eoghan O’Shea (Tipperary).

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.