03 Oct 2022

Longford Town crash to dismal home defeat against Cabinteely

Longford Town crash to dismal home defeat against Cabinteely

Aidan Friel pictured in action for Longford Town.

Without a home win in the Airtricity League since October 2015, the wait goes on for Longford Town who crashed to a dismal defeat against Cabinteely.

SSE Airtricity League First Division - Round 4

Longford Town . . . . 0    Cabinteely . . . . . 2

Watched by the small official attendance of 321 who braved the cold weather at windy City Calling Stadium on Saturday night, this was a very poor performance which will have given manager Alan Mathews some serious cause for concern.

Touted as First Division title contenders at the start of the season, Longford were confidently expected to conquer Cabinteely in a historic first ever league meeting between the clubs but it failed to materialise much to the sheer dismay of the loyal home supporters.

Rocked by a terrible start as Jack Watson scored for the Dublin outfit with just two minutes gone on the clock, latching on to a long ball into the box to hit the target, the Town almost conceded a second goal when the Cabinteely dangerman Kieran Marty Waters hit the crossbar in the 10th minute.  

David O’Sullivan wasted a glorious opportunity of equalising for Longford in the 19th minute when he directed a free header inches wide of the post and the crossbar came to Cabinteely’s rescue in the 34th minute when Gavin Boyne was denied from close range.

Town substitute Cody Mulhall was narrowly off target in the 66th minute but Cabinteely were comfortable for the remainder of the game before they made absolutely certain of the surprise victory when a delightful flick on by veteran striker Jason Byrne ended up with Kieran Marty Waters firing a cracking shot to the net in the 90th minute

LONGFORD TOWN (4-4-2): Paul Skinner; Aidan Friel, Daniel O’Reilly, Stephen Walsh, Mark Langtry; Dylan McGlade, Kevin O’Connor, Dean Zambra, Jake Kelly; Gavin Boyne, David O’Sullivan.

Subs:- Cody Mulhall for Boyne (half-time); Kealan Dillon for O’Connor (84 mins).

Not used:- Jack Brady, Tristan Noack-Hofmann, Ian Fletcher, Aodh Dervin, Darragh Doherty.

CABINTEELY (4-1-3-1-1): Michael Kelly; Karl Boyne, Victor Ekanem, Conor Keely, Kevin Knight; Christian Lotefa; Jack Watson, Anthony Dolan, Evan Galvin; Kieran Marty Waters; Joe Doyle.

Sub:- Jason Byrne for Doyle (87 mins).

Referee: Eoghan O’Shea (Tipperary).

To continue reading this article,
please subscribe and support local journalism!

Subscribing will allow you access to all of our premium content and archived articles.


To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.