09 Aug 2022

Longford Town crash to disappointing home defeat against Cobh Ramblers

Longford Town crash to disappointing home defeat against Cobh Ramblers

Cody Mulhall, who scored a consolation goal for Longford Town deep into stoppage time against Cobh at City Calling Stadium. Photo: James Donnelly

Generally regarded as one of the main contenders for the sole promotion spot in the Airtricity League First Division this season, Longford Town produced a poor performance in crashing to a disappointing defeat against Cobh Ramblers at City Calling Stadium on Saturday night.

SSE Airtricity League First Division - Round 2

Longford Town . . . . . 1     Cobh Ramblers . . . . . 3

Watched by the small official attendance of 320, the sides were scoreless at the break but the Town should have broken the deadlock right at the start of the second half when Enda Curran squandered a glorious opportunity after somehow shooting wide with the goals at his mercy.

That turned out to be a very costly miss for Longford (without injured duo Don Cowan and Noel Haverty) as Cobh took the lead through impressive midfield playmaker Karl Caulfield who burst his way through to blast a cracking shot to the roof of the net in the 59th minute.

The visitors almost scored again soon after when Ian Mylod had his shot well saved by Town keeper Paul Skinner but the same Cobh player made no mistake when he beat the offside trap on his way to directing the ball into the back of the net in the 62nd minute.

Things went from bad to worse for Longford when they conceded a third goal in the 80th minute, a fine finish from the head of substitute Kyle McNamara after he connected with a terrific right wing cross from Stephen Christopher.

Losing badly in the first home game of the season was hard to take, although the disgruntled home supporters had something to shout about when substitute Cody Mulhall scored a scrappy consolation goal in the fourth minute of stoppage time.

LONGFORD TOWN (4-4-2): Paul Skinner; Aidan Friel, Rhys Gorman, Stephen Walsh, Daniel O’Reilly; Gavin Boyne, Dean Zambra, Kevin O’Connor (captain), Dylan McGlade; David O’Sullivan, Enda Curran.

Subs:- Jake Kelly for O’Reilly (65 mins); Mark Langtry for Gorman (69 mins); Cody Mulhall for Boyne (77 mins).

COBH RAMBLERS (4-5-1): Paul Hunt; Shane Lowth, Ben O’Riordan, James McSweeney, Anthony O’Donnell; Stephen Christopher, Chris McCarthy, Karl Caulfield, Craig Donnellan, Ian Mylod; Dean Swords.

Subs:- Kyle McNamara for Mylod (73 mins); Charlie Fleming for Christopher (83 mins); Scott McCarthy for Swords (two minutes into stoppage time).

Referee: John McLoughlin (Athlone).

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.