01 Dec 2021

Shamrock Rovers come out on top

Ayman Ben Mohamed, pictured here in action against Sheriff YC, was one of several first team members named by Tony Cousins to face Shamrock Rovers in the quarter-finals of the Leinster Senior Cup. Photo: Frank McGrath
Longford Town . . . . . . . . . 0 Shamrock Rovers . . . . . 1

Longford Town . . . . . . . . . 0 Shamrock Rovers . . . . . 1

Padraic O’Brien reporting from city calling stadium

Despite fielding several members of the first team squad in this low key Leinster Senior Cup fixture at City Calling Stadium on Tuesday night of last week, Longford Town had to settle for second best against a generally experimental Shamrock Rovers side.

Having said that, Rovers did feature a few regulars in their starting eleven and it was striker Gareth McCaffrey who scoring the winning goal in the 53rd minute - cutting in from the left on his way to directing the ball into the corner of the net.

Watched by a sparse attendance in the region of 150 spectators, there were a couple of new faces on the Town team with U-19 players Keith Beirne (from Mohill) and Ciaran McGuinness linking up in the centre of the defence.

Promising local, Ardagh lad Daryl Carrigy , was brought on during the course of the second half but Longford never really looked like engineering the equaliser in what was a poor game overall.

Keith Beirne had a chance in the first half when he shot over the bar while Dean Kelly had his effort blocked on the line in the 67th minute.

Town keeper Paul Skinner, who kept out a close range shot from McCaffrey in the early stages of the game, prevented Shamrock Rovers from getting a second goal in the 81st minute when he made a fine point-blank save to deny Shane Hanney.

LONGFORD TOWN: Paul Skinner; Noel Haverty, Keith Beirne, Ciaran McGuinness, Martin Deady; Ayman Ben Mohamed, Philip Gannon, Jamie Mulhall, Jack Doherty, Kaleem Simon; Dean Kelly.

Subs:- Daryl Carrigy for Mulhall (injured, 62 mins); Malike Benrouguibi for Doherty (78 mins); Cian Fay for Simon (85 mins).

SHAMROCK ROVERS: Craig Hyland; Jamie Wilson, Max Blanchard, David O’Connor, Dylan Kavanagh; Kieran Marty Waters, Ryan Brennan, James Doona, Shane Hanney; Cian Kavanagh, Gareth McCaffrey.

Subs:- Darragh Gibbons for Blanchard (57 mins); Eoghan Morgan for C Kavanagh (72 mins); Jamie Hamilton for Doona (85 mins).

Referee: John McLoughlin (Athlone).

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.